Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 22783
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Nannup/Balingup
All Year: May - December
Area (ha): 2 (Nannup) +8 (Balingup)
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 22783
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 29, 2018

Hello out there! We would very much appreciate the help of two English speakers, preferably with a vehicle or a driver's licence, for the two weeks 30 July - 14 August. We are preparing to have our garden open in the Nannup Flower and Garden Festival to raise funds for the building of a new school in a Cambodian village.
You would stay upstairs in our rammed earth and timber house, with your own bathroom downstairs, and share the rest of the house and the wi-fi with us.The room is warm as heat from our woodfire goes up, and there's a heater in the room if nneded.
Since we retired from work in Perth we have been living in this lovely, wilder place and travelling when we can, so we enjoy the company of young travellers as well as appreciating your help. Brian was a university professor of Australian History, and I was a language teacher, so am happy to help you improve your English if you want.

We would like you to work for 4 or 5 hours a day for 5 days out of 7 (days and times off negotiable). Jobs could include wood-oiling, leaf-raking, scrubbing the decks and bird-baths, digging, weeding, planting, edging, mulching, collecting and chopping firewood . . .
And we always appreciate being lent a hand around the house with the odd bit of cleaning or cooking ( we are currently on a semi-vegetarian, diet).
Here, at Gullyfoot, we have a steep hillside above our place where there are kangaroos and emus, and many birds fly down into our garden. We are 25 minutes drive from Balingup (on Southwest Highway between Donnybrook and Bridgetown) where we have more acres high on the hillside, with sheep, trees and a small cabin and where we work once or twice a week. Just 15 minutes drive from home is the little forest town of Nannup. From there it's about an hour to Margaret River on the Indian Ocean or to Pemberton in the karri forest with the Gloucester Tree, and not a lot further to Augusta on the Southern Ocean and one end of the Cape to Cape walk track..
The Bibbulmun Track crosses our Balingup-Nannup Road.

Jenny

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use