Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 22894
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 22894
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 6, 2017

My name is Kathleen, I live near a small country town of Darkan in Southern Western Australia, making permaculture garden beds to grow organic food as an expression of life style, not for commercial enterprise. so routine is varied and flexible.

UPDATE: Winter in the south west is apon us and it is a time for gathering wood and lighting fires! You can learn to use the tools to make this happen. Watching movies while learning to sow is also another good passtime. Baking cakes and slow cooked stews are on the menu. Currenly vegitabe gardens are not growing due to lack of water last summer.

Chinese/English speaking guests (Traditional or Mainland) able to assist with language studies would be more than welcome.
Hope to meet you soon!

I offer an almost self contained loft/bedroom for free accommodation in exchange for general help around my home and property. This may include gardening, cooking, building, cleaning and helping with any ongoing projects like light building and constructing of garden beds, retaining walls, shade house, cleaning gutters or putting in fence posts. All tools and machinery are available if you are confident and competent with their use.

Volunteers are welcome to cook or share their cuisine and items needed for this will be included in the shopping. Light breakfasts and lunch with an evening meal of Vegan, vegetarian or meat meals supplied. BYO treats, chips or snack foods. Sometimes I just don't feel like cooking and expect guest to be able to prepare a light meal for themself. Shared cleaning up after meals is expected.

Satellite TV, Wifi is currently unavailable, however you can use your own service provider . Social drinking and smoking is acceptable, BYO.

Cultural exchanges of meals are welcome as a learning experience, Language exchange of English for Chinese is possible as this is what I am currently studying.

In this rural settings guest will have the opportunity to learn new skills from a hands on perspective or with machines and tools usually to do with gardening or building.

Assistance with local and Interstate transport arrangements and the opportunity to do day trips by car in the South of Western Australia or go camping (summer)is also offered (with a donation to fuel costs). .

I would enjoy volunteers to be quiet minded, interested in nature and natural things, have at least a little sense of humor, be honest and trustworthy. Some willingness to communicate like talking or language exchange would be great. Occupationally expect to have time alone if I visit my daughter for a few days.

Hard work is NOT expected but do have a willingness to participate and enjoy whatever events occur would be favorable. As an amputee (leg), l often scoot about and do work in a wheelchair and also walk on an artificial leg.

Short 10 day or preferably longer stays would be welcome if suitable and mutual. I look forward to meeting you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use