help exchange   Host 22934
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Summer/Autumn
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 22934
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 18, 2014

Can you help?

We are looking for helpers for between 4-10 days at a time. We can often give a lift back to London area at the end of the visit.

We are Pam & Glyn, in our 50's, living in a hamlet in South Devon, 10 miles from sea. Glyn often works away from home and I have ME/CFS so am unable to do much and so neither of us can really look after the house & garden properly. I am unlikely to able to socialize unless I am having a very good day, as I just get exhausted, so a single helper would need to be comfortable with time alone. I speak a little French and completed a TEFL course many moons ago. Parking may be possible for one car.

For You (Non-smokers, no pets)

A sited modern comfortable, but unheated caravan.Bedding/towels provided. Access to WC/shower/wash/cooking facilities in the house.You should be able to connect to the house wifi for emails.

1 mile away
Community shop with coffee shop, library, internet access
Community woodland for walks
3 Pubs
Garden centre serving cream teas

5 miles away
Totnes/Ashburton/Newton Abbot
Dartington with an arts cinema/theatre/music
Butterfly farm
Steam Railway
Paignton Zoo
More Pubs!
Riverford Organic farm where you can have lunch or perhaps even find some paid work during the growing season,

Further afield, Beaches for surfing fishing, RHS Rosemoor, Eden project, Plymouth and ferries to France/Spain.Other ideas can be found here,

For Us
We prefer it if you are happy to eat the same food as us and share meal preparation/clearing up in addition to your hours. Be prepared for 4 to 5 hours work a day(28-30hrs a week). We like people who take pride in their work and get stuck in to whatever is on the list. If there is something you hate doing let us know, don't suffer in silence. Unskilled tasks may include housework, cooking/food prep, window cleaning, painting, gardening, building labouring,greenhouse glass cleaning and repairs, assisting with tree felling.

We would love....Trade skills: we could use include hairdresser, roofer, plasterer, lumberjack / tree surgeon / arboriculturist, climber, carpenter, someone who knows how to fence off pasture and get the barbed wire taut.If you are qualified in these areas we would consider negotiating less hours accordingly.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use