Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 23050
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.115
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 23050
Country: Switzerland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 2, 2018

If you want to see more pictures, then click on my first Facebook link above. I am posting all pictures from Helpers that stayed here, for everybody to see! Also some of my helpers have posted their own comments about staying at my place.

I live with my son Sven (21y), but no longer with a cat, sorry, in an old farmhouse, converted to 3 apartments in Madiswil, a small town between Berne and Basel. I have the second floor apartment (4 bedroom). One of the 2 remaining apartments is rented out to a young couple with two little boys. The other Apartment is used by my son. Helpers have free internet connection.

We share a our garden with the other tenants. There is also a small swimming pool and a large covered BBQ area. We also have a well equipped fitness room, Sauna and Solarium (Tanning Bed) which is under construction right now, but still can be used.

There is a possibility in the village for shopping (supermarket, post office etc.) and evening entertainment (bars, restaurants and hotels). The next larger town (Langenthal) that offers a lot more shopping and entertainment is approximately 10 minutes by train or 20 minutes by bicycle (various bikes available, free of charge).

We have a local train station (8 minutes walk from the house). This station will connect to all major lines and touristic areas in Switzerland. From here, you can travel to any place here in Switzerland, or even abroad. In the summer the various hiking trails and mountain climbing areas are very popular. In the winter, of course, skiing is the most obvious. But also hiking can be very interesting. We also have a small airport within 5 km of here. From there, sightseeing flights can be taken over the Alps and the Jura mountains. The Airfield has a Glider club, where flights can be made with an instructor against payment of the starting-landing fees.

I speak Dutch (native language), English, German, French and a tiny little bit of Spanish. My son, Sven, speaks Dutch, Flemish (native language), French and English fluently. He is attending school, to learn German.

HelpX elpers have free lodging, use of the Bathroom and kitchen, food and beverages, as well as anything else a person normally needs to survive. I ask in return some help (two or three hours a day) in the garden, cooking and housekeeping. Food and beverages are also included if, in exchange, the HelpX-helper can do the cooking and let me sit at her/his/their table. I love to experiment and try your local specialities, especially your mothers or grandmothers secret recipes :-).

I don`t use a punch clock or a time table to keep track of the worked hours. I`ll leave that up to the helper. But in return, I do expect HelpX-ers to show initiative and do something when I`m not around or tell them what to do. Since I am not finished with the renovation of the house, I could also use some help with moving materials, simple carpentry (drywall) or painting. All can be discussed depending the helpers preferences and abilities. Oh yes, if you are from the far east, you can make me very happy if you bring some of you local tea-specialities. I try to reduce my coffee consumption to a minimum and I am getting a little bored with Lipton`s Earl grey :-).

I don`t smoke, I don`t do drugs, other than tea and single malt Scotch Whiskey, and my son has one cat.
For my guest I prefer if they are not smoking, do drugs or bring pets, at least not in the house. I do have a covered balcony for smokers.

We hope to hear from You !!!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use