Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 23081
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Severn Bridge
All Year: Spring Summer Fall
Area (ha): 47
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 23081
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 19, 2015

***We are now booking from mid April to end of June and from Aug to Oct***

We are located just 1.5 hours north of Toronto in Ontario's beautiful and rugged Muskoka cottage country!!

We operate a small Organic livestock operation. We raise dairy goats, sheep, chickens, ducks and turkeys. All free range.

We expect 4-6 hours of work per day or you can work longer days and take a day off here and there.

The type of work we have is caring for the animals, gardening, building fences, working with dogs, building structures, logging, wood cutting--there is always lots to do on a farm!

If you are a couple, and one of you would rather care for children, cook ect. that is also an option. We have 2 boys. Twelve and 3 years old.

We are renovating our 1880 farm house while we live in it at the same time- this can be a little hectic and you need to be ok with that!

Currently we are in our fifth year of farming; we are developing our farm and infrastructure, and doing a reno on the house; there is a LOT going on here!!

We are a younger (under 40) couple with 2 boys.

We have 2 livestock guard dogs and a pet dog. And hope to add a herding dog this year. You need to *really* like dogs and animals and kids to have a good time here! We do and we think its great!!

We like to have a campfire on the weekend sometimes and enjoy a few drinks.

We eat mostly but not entirely organic, simple foods, but healthy, much of it produced on our farm. We have a gluten free family member so can easily accomodate gluten free eating. We eat a lot of grass fed organic meat- and cannot easily accomodate a vegetarian.

We eat dinner as a family, but we ask that you help yourself and make your own breakfast. We take turns making lunch and dinner, and ask that you take turns with the cooking and or the cleanup too, like part of the family!

We have a travel trailer for you to stay in, which has a double bed and a convertible table.

You can use the shower in the trailer, with a portable shower bag, and there is an outhouse for you. The trailer has electricity, and internet is in the living room in the house.

We can accept 1-2 helpXers at a time, for longer stays a single or couple is best so that you may use the table in the trailer.

We can drive you into and back from Orillia on a weekday for a day off. If you like to go to the pub in the evening sometimes we can take you into town for that too! There is a cute local place with live music in the summers.

We can pick you up for your stay anywhere from Barrie north to Huntsville.

We have kayaks and a canoe on site for you to enjoy, and are on the Severn river. You can paddle to a swing bridge, watch the tourist boats, go for ice cream or go fishing (if you have a rod). You can even paddle into Washago. There is one bike on site to use; fits a person 5'5" and up.

We have several km of hiking trails on our property. We are close to beaches, and are located in Muskoka cottage country.

We are open minded free thinkers, we like a lot of different kinds of music, we like ecologically aware living, mindful thinking, and alternative farming concepts.

We are supporters and consumers of raw milk, and a locavore diet.

We look forward to meeting you!!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use