Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 23083
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 23083
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 21, 2016

We are a retired English couple who came to live in the SW France in the summer of 2007. We have been gradually renovating our small farm since then.
Our property is situated in the sleepy Charente. 60km north of Bordeaux and 45km south of Angouleme. We are located in a very rural area which has prolific wildlife including boar,several species of deer and an amazing array of birds of prey. At certain times of the year the Golden Oriolle and the beautiful Hoophoop bird are to be seen.This year we have even had a Nightingale nesting close to the barn.
Our farm is within 15 minutes drive of a popular etang (manmade lake and beach) with its large Sports Centre,complete with all equatic amenities,fitness room and squash court,bar and cafe which is open all year. There is also a very popular restaurant which overlooks the lake,though this is closed from November through to March.
We have 6 dogs, 9 horses/ponies and 3 cats plus numerous chickens and ducks.
Our main discipline with the horses is carriage driving. We would like a male Helpxer,as we require a lot of work around our woodlands and lake and also maintenance on the properties on the farm. This will consist of a 5 day week of about 5 hours a day. Though this will be flexible. Some days will be shorter depending on what needs doing.
What we are looking for is help with the fencing,gardening,general work outside on the land,woodlands and around our lake and help painting and renovating the buildings.
We will offer you 3 meals a day and of course the odd beer or glass of wine! Plus comfortable self contained accommodation in our Gite, which consists of a bedroom with a king size bed. En-suite shower with toilet facilities. Kitchen diner,and separate sitting room
We have a bike you can use, and will of course offer lifts to the local towns, and the typical French outdoor markets,full of local produce.
We look forward very much to hearing from you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use