Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 23217
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Gold Coast
All Year: yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 23217
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 2, 2018

I have a beautiful home on the ridge in Elanora on the Gold Coast, South East Queensland, Australia. It is in a Koala sanctuary, surrounded by bush and wildlife. Often you will see wallabies grazing in the back yard, and if you are patient, also koala’s in the trees. You definitely will hear the latter even if you do not see them!
There are plenty of bush walks around my house for you to explore the native wildlife.

In my opinion (and many helpers that I have hosted) my offer is a great opportunity to live in a very special part of the Gold Coast. The property is set in bushland but is only five (5) minutes drive to Currumbin Beach and close to other beaches and Shopping Centres. The Pines Shopping Centre is the closest to my home and provides all that you would need. I have found most helpex people are not into large shopping centres and prefer beaches and wilderness which my property has in spades.
I would prefer a couple as I have found that better for me and you can keep yourselves company whilst I am at work. However, if you think you can work independently send me a message and we may be able to work something out.
My house is smoke and alcohol free

I have been told that I am very welcoming and easy to live with. I am a great cook and the accommodation most pleasing. My dog Ye-she is adorable but will need to get to know you first he is not a dog that warms immediately to you. This is a trait of this bread – Tibetan Spaniel. They were bread to look after the Tibetan monks.
I run a busy company from home, so what I like to do is discuss and document with you a work schedule for the following day. Generally the day before outside of my working hours.
This way I can instruct you and explain anything that you don’t understand. It is very hot here and I have found that previous helpers prefer to rise early and start the chores. This not only ensures we both benefit from the relationship, but you get the afternoon to sight see instead of trying to work in this hot humid environment.
Most of the helpers that I have hosted for five (5) years now have been fantastic. An integral part of my household. We have both learnt from each other and I have the privilege of being able to keep in touch with them. Hopefully when I retire I am planning to visit many of them in their countries.
We had a mutually beneficial agreement that worked for both of us.
I am looking for a genuine exchange of work. For this I will provide:
• Food,
• Accommodation, a beautiful environment, your own room and bathroom (linen and towels).
• As well access to a washing machine, air dry clothes, I don’t have a dryer not needed.
• Free internet/wifi


This is in exchange for:
25 hours of work or thereabouts contribution per week + minimum cooking 2/3 evening meals per person. If you cook more often then you help less during the day.

The hours worked will really depend on your efficiency in getting the work done, just so long as it works out a fair exchange for both of us

You must be able to work alone with initiative and follow instructions, with good English, good work ethics, reliable and someone who takes pride in their work.

Having your own transport will be more preferable, but we can work around that for the right people. There is no public transport here, there is a shopping centre 10 minutes walk to a bus stop or I can give you a lift if arranged the night before you wish to go out. It is preferable if you walk down the hill and I can pick you up in the evenings on your return, the most convenient time for me is between 5:00pm – 5:30pm.
I have bicycles you are also welcome to use, although I live close to the beach, its not walking distance.

I am looking for people with practical skills, to help with the lawn and gardening, can help with small repairs around the house, help with the running of a house (washing cleaning etc) I am also looking for a cultural exchange where we can chat, find out about each others backgrounds, foods interests, etc. I want to involve you with my lifestyle and outings and activities. Friendly, outgoing personalities. I do not want people that lock themselves up in their room and unwilling to have company during down times.
As part of the household, I am looking for people willing to contribute to the house. Not just the help during the day, but keep your living areas tidy, help with dishes after meal times.
I am looking for placements of 2 weeks long only. However longer placements can be negotiated after you have been here for at least a week and we both agree on the terms. If you have a specific skill which would assist us please let me know.

Tasks will include but not limited to:
• Gardening – this is mainly maintenance work but if you have any special skills in this area I would love to hear about it. I would like to start a vegetable garden and improve on the garden that I currently have.
• Cleaning the house and outside areas – use a specific system for the internal cleaning, it is called Enyo – this is environmentally friendly. https://www.enjo.com.au/ it would be great if you could visit the website and familiarise yourself with this method before you arrive at my house.
• Wash and polish cars
• Cooking – I would like to enjoy your style of cooking. You will be cooking here as well, what I like to do here is healthy fresh food. So if you like this type of cooking or have these skills that is also a bonus. Dinner is generally around 6pm.
• General maintenance and painting – if you have any skills in this area that would be great.
• Office work – sometimes there are some general duties in the office that you may be able to assist with. This would be mainly scanning in documents into the computer.
• Computers, social media, instructional videos like what is on YouTube this would be great also.
I take my dog walking every afternoon (4pm) and you are welcome to join me. Also I love to get up early and see the sunrise which is magnificent at the beach. I love having helpx people in the house and enjoy many dinners and good conversation. You have your own room and I am sure you will enjoy your stay with me. Looking forward to seeing you soon







Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use