help exchange   Host 23240
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 57
Persons: 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 23240
Region: BC, South Central

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 31, 2015

*Hey there! Looking for an immediate volunteer to homestay this spring and throughout the year. We have some animals that need tending to each day so reliability is vital for their well being. Tasks would include so of the following.
- feeding the animals (Some chickens and ducks, 2 big dogs, 2 cats),
- very occasionally look after the kids for short stretches (Emil, 5 and Eva, 2), and
- work on the gardens, building projects and cleanup with Oliver

We offer this as an opportunity to learn, and have fun in exchange for a place to stay. Meals would be dependent on the amount of hours of worked, agreed upon between us ahead of time. The work is just starting to ramp up around the gardens and farm but We would provide breakfast currently. Other meals would be your own responsibility or we'd cook together and you'd pitch in for the food. You'd be expected to keep your stuff contained, keep the fire going, and help out with the usual household chores like any roommate.

Accommodation in the house. We have a tv but no cable, instead we like to stream movies/ documentaries. We have high speed internet.

We live on a mountain in a log house that is heated only with wood. Lots of opportunity to hike, snowshoe, x-country. Ski-hill close by. Lake with ice-fishing in walking distance. Bring fish home to eat! The snow is gone now and the ice is quickly melting off the lake. Soon there will be swimming and sailing at the lake on our small pocket cruiser.

I am a father of 2 beautiful little children who spend part of the time up here on the farm with me as well as husband to their mother Meike who is here occasionally. We moved here seeking connection to the land and community. We value sustainability and want to live a satisfying, healthy and creative life. We bought the property with the intent of starting an organic farm and forming an ecovillage. We originally moved here in May 2012 and have started to establish our homestead with the help of many wonderful volunteers.
Meike is a massage therapist and Oliver is a filmmaker by trade. We are planning a farm-based Nano-Brewery to be built this year.

We are located 15 minutes outside of Greenwood, BC. 142 acres (previously clear cut) on a mountain in the forest with Jewel Creek running through it. It is surrounded by crown land and has trails all around. 3 km to Jewel Lake with a nice beach, swimming, and boating, in a wilderness setting.

You would have opportunities to learn the following skills:
organic/ bio-dynamic gardening,
bread baking,
natural building methods,
using heavy equipment (tractor, excavator, dump truck),
wood working skills (including the use of hand tools, chainsaw, and sawmill),
animal husbandry, and many more.

We are incorporating Permaculture principles:
rainwater catchment,
hugelkultur, just to name a few.

This year we need help with:
Working the big garden that will supply us with fresh organic food,
food preservation,
building cabins using natural building methods,
dry stone stacked walls,
preparing fields, terraces and landscaping (earth moving with heavy equipment), ponds,
animal husbandry (we have chickens, 2 cats and 2 large dogs),
setting up a micro hydro power generation system,
water diversion systems.

Tons of opportunities to learn as well as pass on your knowledge to others.

We are also actively looking for residents and helping new members of the community build natural homes designed to minimize ecological disturbance. We use building material sourced from our land as much as possible. We are big fans of cob buildings and round houses.

We are producing our own solar power and are planning to set up hydro systems.

We speak English and German.

Read a blog from one of our previous volunteers here:

Check out some of our videos on Youtube

Accommodation in the summer:
Camping. We have a camper and two tents or you can pitch your own tent outside or upstairs in the barn or bring your own camper.

You're welcome to use the outdoor kitchen that has running water and a fridge as well as a propane cooker and wood burning cob oven for baking (pizza and bread for example!)

We look forward to meeting many cool people and are excited about what we can accomplish together!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use