Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 23256
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: March-November
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 23256
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 15, 2013

We are an English couple with a 6 month old baby recently relocated to the Alpujarras and working towards self-sustainability. We have approx 32,000m2 land with lots of potential, and want to expand our small but very productive organic fruit and vegetable garden, as well as exploring livestock options. We also have lots of fruit and nut trees including cherry, apple, pear, damson, fig, olive, persimmon, walnut, almond, and grape vines. We are off-grid and rely on solar power for electricity and springs/snow-melt for water.

Located at 1300m altitude on the edge of the Sierra Nevada national park we have spectacular views of the Mediterranean and Morocco, and our very own ancient threshing circle (an "era"). There are plenty of great walking routes in the surrounding forests, and we are just a few km away from the famous Buddhist retreat centre O Sel Ling, which is well worth a visit. If you're keen on climbing there are some decent bolted crags just half an hour away.

We are looking for a couple of young, friendly, honest, enthusiastic volunteers to help develop our vegetable garden and, depending on the time of year, with harvesting and preserving produce along with other general gardening and maintenance jobs. We would ask for an average of 4-5 hours help a day (we're flexible with times) and we will provide newly renovated en suite accommodation, use of our pool, wireless internet and hearty home-cooked meals. For the moment we are only looking for short-term help as we have our hands quite full with our new baby, however there are lots of other Helpx hosts nearby if you wanted to stay for longer in the area. We look forward to hearing from you!

Photos below:
1) The view from our "era"
2) Our little family
3) Our recently adopted dog Max
4) Accommodation for HelpXers
5) Philippa climbing at our local crag last summer
6) Sun drying home-grown tomatoes with basil. Yum!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use