help exchange   Host 23304
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Kasson
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 23304
Region: Midwest

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 14, 2015

This is a relaxed, creative, inclusive space for people looking to learn more about living off the land or just spend some time travelling and working.

For those looking for a gardening, food production and sustainable-living education - we are for you. We aren't a commercial production operation (only about 1 acre cultivated), so we've got the time to let you explore your interests and teach you what we know. We encourage enterprising and thoughtful people to contribute to our work here in a way that is unique among many farms.

For those of you looking to travel, we offer relatively relaxing and self-paced work schedules, and attempt to align your work with your interests/preferences.

We do not ask that anyone have previous experience, just a willingness to do a wide array chores for 35 hours a week. Chores include mostly gardening, but also food preparation and preservation, building up-keep and wood chopping and stacking. We welcome volunteers to stay from 5 days (usual minimum) to many months.

We have ample camping space, a driveway for RVs or campers, and a 19' camper available as a private residence. We also have a micro-cabin set-back from the house, with an outdoor awning, kitchen-space and fire pit. The outdoor shower and outhouse are close-by.

We generally eat the evening (vegetarian) meal together, outside when weather permits. We also like to occasionally have outdoor bonfire parties in the yard.

We have a small flock of chickens for our eggs. We've also got 3 big dogs and 3 cats. The dogs are very friendly and well-behaved. The barn cat, Max, is a favorite of Helpers who like kitties.

We also have 5 adopted kids under 14 who love playing, for those of you who like that! They also give people space who don't, though.

Our land is beautiful and only a short walk to a lovely river with rocky overhangs. We're a 20 minute bike ride to a small town and 1/2 hour car ride from Rochester, MN.

We have always had good relations with our Helpers and keep in touch with many. Both the women here were former farm interns themselves, so we have definite ideas of how to make interning here a positive experience.

This place was founded in 2004 as a way for us to put down roots and develop a genuine connection to the land. We grow a wide variety of vegetable, grain, small fruit and tree fruit crops, including strawberries, raspberries, sweet corn, millet, tomatoes, asparagus, watermelons and pumpkins. We are functionally, but not certified, organic.

Projects this year include finishing new outdoor gardens, wetland restoration, outdoor oven and stove, and making our yard safer for poultry!

Search for us on Facebook for more pics and info.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use