help exchange   Host 23334
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Selective dates only
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 23334
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 17, 2018

Availability:We are a bit tight on dates now, but if you think you have skills we could use and fancy visiting this area, then please do message us.

Martin and I are retired but very active. I was a teacher and ran a business, Martin was a builder and it's largely thanks to him that most of our old farm buildings here have been sensitively renovated in the local style. We live just to the north of Bergerac and have over a hectare of land with a few goats, a few hens, a vegetable garden, more fruit and walnut trees than we need, and we run a couple of popular holiday properties on the site. I speak good French although the main language in the house is English.

We really appreciate an extra hand from willing guests from time to time,and the chance to make new friends, hear new perspectives,and share stories round our table.

Although we are in a rural location, the lovely town of Bergerac is 5 minutes by car, with lots of things going on there as well as train and bus links if you want to explore further afield. There are a couple of bikes available, and we are always happy to drop a Helpxer off in Bergerac or at a train or bus stop, or at the country park and swimming lake not far away. I always offer to take helpers on a day out to visit some of the tourist spots in this wonderful part of France. Bergerac is a great town but if you want a city break whilst you are here, then Bordeaux is about an hour away by train or car.

One favourite spot on the site is the open fronted "summer house" which acts as our outdoor kitchen, dining and sitting space for 7 months of the year, with an old woodburning stove providing extra heat and cooking facilities on chillier evenings.

We can welcome one volunteer at any one time, occasionally two, for about a week at a time. You need to be reasonably fit, and willing to be serious about lending a hand to move us forward. If you can offer practical skills, so much the better! Activity depends on the season and weather, your ability and interests. There is usually a variety of things to do and we try and offer a project to suit each helper and so that you can see that your help has made a real difference. We ask for about 20 to 25 hours of your time over a week in exchange for generous meals and a large bedroom to yourself with comfy bed and armchair (your chilling out zone when you've had enough of our company),adjacent shower room. Good Wifi internet access. As for food, meat/fish eaters and vegetarians welcome.

We will welcome you warmly and hope you will join the list of splendid volunteers who have passed through our doors (some pictured here) and who have shared a great deal of fun and hard work, who have learned a lot and taught us too - in short, who have enriched our lives, and who have found a personal enrichment here too. If we are just a bed in your travels so that you are not really engaged in who we are, or if you just can't get yourself out of bed on work mornings (we certainly don't start at the crack of dawn - breakfast is served at 9 am), this place is not for you. But if you like a challenge (sometimes the challenge is getting on with us!) and are prepared to help out with our activities in whatever way you can, if you are happy with country life, if you are happy to get to know how we really tick and join in with us, then we'd love to share our space with you and get to know you too.

If you want more details don't hesitate to ask.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use