Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 23472
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .8
Persons: 1 or 2 (double bed)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 23472
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 5, 2018

Our family includes Warren (road construction) and Susan (ESL Teaher/Tour Coordinator). We have 3 married children - our 29 year old son Josh and his wife Corina; our 27 year old daughter Rhiannon, her husband Jared, 3 year old daughter, Rosie and 5 month old son, Mitchell; and our 23 year old daughter Steph, her husband Nathaniel, 2 year old daughter, Isla and 7 week old son, Harrison. We all live within 45 minutes of each other and regularly see each other and have weekly Sunday night dinners together.

We live in a small country town on the Darling Downs, 20 minutes to the nearest city of Toowoomba with some public transport, though quite limited. We live on a quiet two acres in the middle of town in an old Queenslander home that we are gradually renovating when we have the time.

We own two chillaxed Bullmastiffs (Bravo and Fame) and a bouncy, active poodle (Shelby) and a lot of chooks (aka chickens).

Work for up to four hours a day, 5 days a week (can be flexible if you wish to work more one day and have the next off). The work can include help with our animals, general housework, gardening, cooking (someone who is willing to cook most nights is very welcome), and house renovations.

We would welcome you to be a part of the family and would be happy for you to join in on our family activities and share our culture and for you to share yours :)

We can`t offer any paid work sorry, but we offer good food and accommodation in our home in your own bedroom. Three meals a day are provided but often it is a matter of helping yourself for breakfast and lunch but we usually eat dinner together. Singles or couples only as you would be required to share a room with a double bed. We don`t have WiFi sorry, as I only have it on my phone.

For many years we have really enjoyed hosting students (mainly from Japan) that are in Australia for a study tour and we always enjoy getting to know them and their culture. Susan is Tour Coordinator for a Japanese Study Program and loves spending the time with each group of students and helping to improve their English.

We love meeting people from different nationalities and have friends from many different countries...a lot we have met through HelpX. We would love to travel more, but work commitments keeps that restricted, so we tend to a lot of our `travel` by meeting new friends from other countries and learning about their country/culture through them.

Aussies are also obviously welcome :)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use