Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 23745
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2 max
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 23745
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 17, 2017

At the moment my husband working away and I am alone with 2 kids. I am looking for someone fit and strong preferably a man because the work needed is heavy ( pushing weelbarrow, moving rocks...). If you arrive before monday (20th november) you will work in the morning for your food and accomodation and if you want you can also work in the afternoon for pay. If you traveling as a couple is fine but not pay for both of yous.

We are a familly of ex-travelers and now decided to settle in far north queensland and raise our kids (2 and nearly 5 years old boys) I was backpaking around Australia when I met my husband, we travel 4 years in Oz and prior that I traveled Europe, Africa, Asia. Now it is our turn to provide accomodation to travelers as we know it is nice to share the life of the locals
My husband works full time as a builder and plumber and me I stay home and try to do everything I can but as we have to many ideas and not enough arms we would like a hand in exchange of meals and accomodation .Our house is situated 30min walk from the CBD of Mareeba (or 2 min drive).It is up the Tablelands 1h hour in land from Cairns
We have a big garden where I try to grow most of our food with biodynamique and permaculture ideas. Want to learn how to make some good compost, grow your own yummy food, preserve the harvest, permaculture on the highland tropics...Learn to get back to the basic in our throw away society. We like having people who are 24 or older or young enthousiatste and mature. We may ask for hard work but you will be giving good food ( most of it organic) in return and nice social nights around camp fire. I love doing craft ( leather, macrame, sewing, painting....)
Most of the work needed will be out the garden ( depens on the season from sowing to harvesting) but there will be some in the house as well( cooking,making cleaning product, laundry liquide, preserving the harvest....) And some general cleaning ( put plates away after meals,vaccum...)
When the work is done we can talk travels stories around a nice fire or go swiming or read books...

We have different options for your stay here.
FULL TIME : around 4h/5h per day for 7days. This include breakfast/ lunch / diner. Private bedroom in the house with shared bathroom with us
PART TIME : around 2h per day for 7 days. You need your own van or tent with your own cooking gears. This option only provide accommodation you will have to cook your meals. This suits people who wants to work outside.

See you soon

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use