help exchange   Host 23946
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 12
Persons: 1 to many
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 23946
Country: Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 16, 2013

My home, Ty Cae Rydar, is a farmhouse set in rolling farmlands of the Usk valley in South East Wales. It was built as a barn in the 1800ís and was converted to a farmhouse in the 1880ís. It is surrounded by 2 acres of land, filled with trees and shrubs. Iíve had it for 20 years and I need some help with maintenance and upkeep since Iím now working away from home.

Important : There is no close public transport, so a helper would need either to have his/her own transport, or to be happy to be about an hourís walk from the nearest shop for 5 days at a time. Iím usually there at the weekends, but I work away during the week, so a helper would be on their own Monday to Friday. The house is not isolated, as there are 5-6 neighbours within a half-mile.

Also, at the moment, there's no internet connection, only a landline !!

The nearest village is Raglan (as in Lord Raglan and the Charge of the Light Brigade) and the nearest town is Monmouth (as in Monmouth Harry), a charming market town with an old fashioned market square and one high street of shops. There are some great pubs there, as well as in all the nearby villages. Itís a half-hour drive to both the Brecon Beacons and Forest of Dean National Parks. Cardiff and Bristol are 40 mins drive away.

Current jobs are mostly in the garden and the outside of the house. I need someone who can do various bits of annual land maintenance, i.e. weeding, cutting back branches and brambles, clearing the path of weeds, trimming hedges, chopping wood. Also, the external woodwork on the house is a priority - I need someone who can rub down and paint outside wood, or even repair windows if possible. No crops, vegetables or animals are involved.

There are five bedrooms, bathroom and kitchen, library, sitting room and pantry. So, in addition, cleaning the inside of the house is a big chore in itself.

A helper should have proven DIY and/or garden maintenance experience as he/she will have to work independently quite a lot of the time. Theyíd have the run of the house during the week. It would suit a couple or friends or someone who likes to be on their own.

Iím thinking about asking for some different levels of HelpX help, e.g. :

1) For the main level of help, Iíd provide all the food (but you will need to cook for yourself) in return for the usual 4 hours DIY/garden work a day with days off (negotiable, of course).

2) As a lighter alternative, I also need someone who will provide entirely for themselves, but will house-sit and clean the house in return for accommodation.

BTW The inside of the house is a non-smoking area.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use