Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 24053
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.6
Persons: up to 4
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 24053
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 30, 2018

Hi I`m running a unique and beautiful Bed and Breakfast with 3 luxury ensuite double rooms and a Shepherd`s Hut, on the edge of Dartmoor and about 1 Km from the delightful village of South Brent, with shops and pubs. Garfield is a big quirky old house with beautiful views and a large garden.

As well as the BandB business, I play semi-professional jazz and rock around the area. It`s getting a bit too much to handle!

I would love some help with preparing breakfasts, clearing and washing up, changing rooms over, cleaning and laundry. Would expect 4 hours help each day with 2 days off per week, in exchange for full lodging (i.e. food and accommodation). There are not guests every day. On days when there is no-one staying, the work would be various household tasks, including cleaning, tidying, laundry, ironing, gardening and possibly building renovation, keeping the place beautiful. I wouldn`t expect you to carry out all the work for the BandB as I do much myself and also already have some help which I expect to continue.

We really take pride in the quality of our breakfasts, which are based on local produce, and would look forward providing a bit of training in this and to swapping ideas.

Sometimes it is very quiet here and it`s best if you are able to enjoy being on your own (or alone with the cats!) for long periods.

Helpers need to be non-smokers please.

We have good mobile phone reception and free wifi and fast broadband is provided.

There are generally one or two helpers here. Usually you will get your own room, and share the family bathroom which has a shower and a bath. When we have two helpers of the same gender staying we may ask you to share a twin-bedded room.

You will also share all of the "family part" of the house, with me and 3 cats. My 5 children (aged 15 to 23) are mostly away from home nowadays but visit on some weekends.

The dramatic wide wild landscape of Dartmoor is a short walk away. Pubs and cafes in South Brent. 30 minutes on the bus to culturally vibrant Totnes or to big city Plymouth.

I think we can be pretty flexible as long as you are good-humoured and prepared to muck in.

Have a look at the website and then email me.

I`d generally prefer for helpers to plan to stay here for at least 4 weeks.

In the winter we have fewer bookings so there are more gardening and house repair tasks than in the summer, and the house is quieter. We have evolved an arrangement the helpxers and I take turns to cook evening meals for each other. Works well for me at least!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use