help exchange   Host 24090
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Generally yes
Area (ha): 58
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 24090
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 7, 2018


If you a couple who would like some helpx work on a wonderful rural property in the Daintree Rainforest - please read on

You can also follow us on Instagram: cape_house

Linda is currently working away from home and I am looking for a couple or two friends who can could do a wide variety of jobs around the property including looking after the animals if I have to go out or away for afew days.
There is a variety of maintenance jobs to do including gardening, painting, , small building jobs, clearing up an overgrown rainforest path,, clearing a shed and cooking some meals! Unfortunately it is not really suitable for a single person.

This is an extraordinary property of 145 acres (135 acres rainforest), bordering with the Daintree National Park. Located just 5km north of the Daintree River and 2.5km from the beautiful and deserted Cape Kimberley Beach, we offer a fantastic retreat amongst nature at its finest. We have seasonal creeks, fruit trees, a horse and cat.

The main property is a Thai-inspired recycled timber home, with stunning views across the rainforest to the Coral Sea. We have internet (not ADSL) and mobile phone reception.

There is comfortable accommodation in your own room and bathroom in our house.

Linda and I both have very busy professional lives. we have adult children now all living away from home. I am easy-going, like a yarn, and give a lot in return for genuine hard work. We are not that great with laziness :( and consider that honesty and trust are fundamental.

I would also particularly like to hear from experienced carpenters, gardeners, or tradies, or any people with small machinery experience who are keen to chop, prune and wippersnip! Please note that you will need closed-in shoes (boots preferred) and suitable clothing. I would love someone keen to cook some interesting meals! There is a good variety of things to do.

I will provide your food for breakfast and lunch for you to prepare, and you can also cook your own evening meal (with food I provide) or share with me. we are non smokers and try not to drink too much alcohol We eat fresh and healthy food, not too much meat, and try and not drink alcohol (but are happy for you to buy your own).

We like to be quite flexible and this would suit a couple or friends who like to be independent.

In return we ask for 5 hours genuine and energetic work per day for 5 days with 2 days off.

if you don't have your own vehicle I can pick up and drop off to the bus in Mossman or Port Douglas at the beginning and end of your stay. Our property is remote however, minimum 15 mins to closest shop by car, and 40 mins from Mossman and the supermarket. Please note there is no public transport through the Daintree.

We look forward to hearing from you and know that you will LOVE being here!

Best wishes,
Tony and Linda

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use