Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 24144
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 24144
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 20, 2014

Porongurup is a beautiful National Park and wine region 45 minutes north of Albany. The Stirling Range (national park) is nearby. Albany has spectacular wild coastline and beaches. I enjoy bushwalking, swimming, canoeing, and am happy to do these activities with you. There are short treks up the local mountains with views over the ocean. There is a lot of starlight here. There are wildflowers in springtime. The weather is temperate, with amazing thunderstorms and warm, sunny weather. If the coast is a bit too hot for you, Porongurup is perfect. I may not always have time to show you around, but you will enjoy the area's natural beauty.

You will be staying at our family home. My mother and I live in a small, but comfortable house, with beautiful kitchen, and bathroom. There is a wood fireplace.

Your accomodation is a separate house which is small and comfortable, with your own kitchen and bathroom and wood fire. You will have privacy, and space. You are welcome to come in the main house whenever you like, to have meals, or socialize. There is a collection of movies available, laundry, wifi internet (limited so no movie/ music downloads or long skype calls sorry). Mobile reception is available nearby.

There is also a smaller house available; a 'Donga' with a wooden deck. It is small but comfortable and a little more secluded. There is a single bed only in this room. You will use separate bathroom and kitchen facilities.

There is plenty of wild animal life. The backyard is natural bush and the Porongurup National Park is walking distance from the house.

We have a juice business, and go to market in Albany once a week. We have a healthy diet and enjoy good local produce and wine.

You will be asked to work up to 4 hours per day in exchange for food, and accommodation. Work time is flexible. We generally cook and eat one main meal together and other meals are taken independently.

PLEASE NOTE: Minimum age is 21!
sorry but we cannot support second year visa applications

I would appreciate some help with house maintenance, creating new projects like a garden shower in the outdoor bathroom, painting, preparing/planning garden beds, landscaping, including building a stone wall. If you like to cook, you are especially welcome. I like to cook myself, and am interested in foreign culture, and food.

Handy, organised and sociable people (with a practical attitude) are especially welcome.

Please come and stay for 2 nights (to start), and if you're happy you can stay longer. All diets welcome. Smoking outdoors (420). No Pets. Quiet street, beautiful morning birdsong next to your window. Easy going lifestyle.

There is public transport to Mt. Barker from Perth. I can meet you there, or can go to Albany to get you.

We have space available if you have a caravan/ camper/ vehicle

Email or phone (leave message).

See you soon :) Nathan.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use