Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 24413
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: April- September
Area (ha):
Persons: 2-4
Category: Other
Host ID: 24413
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 12, 2018

**We are looking for 2 helpers in September**

We run a small outdoor cafe, open from Easter to the end of September each year. We are situated on the beautiful island of Kerrera, 5 mins off the coast of Oban in the west of Scotland. The island attracts lots of walkers and we are positioned in a great location 45 mins walk from the ferry on the south of the island close to Gylen Castle. It's the perfect place to stop for some good homemade soups, cakes and a nice cup of tea!

We also have a seven bed Bunkhouse open all year round.

Tasks would include working in the kitchen (lots of dishwashing!) and serving customers. We're open 10.30am-4.30pm, so we ask helpers to be ready to start at 10am. There will occasionally be other work such as cleaning, laundry and and gardening. Working hours will be dependent on how busy we are and we ask you to be flexible. Typically, it will be about 6hrs a day. However, we do aim to give you time to relax and explore this beautiful island!

You will deal with the public, so a good level of spoken English is essential.

We will provide all meals and accommodation and helpers get a share of the tips. (Please note that we do eat meat and wheat and will find it difficult to cater for vegans. Vegetarians- we might need you to assist with cooking)

Helpers would stay either in our vintage caravan, or in our newly converted wood cabin.

Ideally, we would like people to stay for a minimum of 2/3 weeks and longer stays are possible. It could be a great opportunity for a couple or two friends.

ABOUT US: We are a young(ish) married couple who love music (most types, especially reggae, funk, soul and Brazilian but not much techno/house) and are very social. Martin loves cooking and takes pleasure in feeding the troops!

The island has about 45 people living here full-time and there is a great sense of community. We love living here- it's a beautiful place to explore, famous for it's geology, Kerrera has breathtaking views. After a hard days work- we love to enjoy a cold beer/ cocktail looking out to sea, past the ruins of Gylen Castle (just 6 mins walk away)! Look us up as Kerrera Tea Garden & Bunkhouse on Facebook for more info and photos and check out our website and Tripadvisor. Please do get in touch if you have any questions, we'd love to hear from you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use