Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 24532
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 24532
Region: Nelson

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 7, 2016

Thanks for your interest but we regret we do not have any HelpX placements here right now until after the beginning of April 2017.

The weather in the Tasman Bay is known to be sunny and warm; we have a wonderful location, overlooking the mountains to the west and the sea to the north, the land is surrounded by olive trees, and farms. The Abel Tasman National Park Track and the Heaphy Track are both easily accessible for those who wish to do some hiking during their stay.

David and Gill have both travelled widely in the past, but have lived here for over 25 years. They both work part time, David works in various roles from marketing, landscaping or driving plus many voluntary hours for community projects from bike trails, footpaths and coastal planting projects. Gill now works as a part time midwife in the local community. Their children have all grown up and left home and they have plenty of space for visitors in their 5 bedroom home.

On the property we have 2 self contained holiday cottages, see website link above.

Gill and David are now developing a home orchard and needing help during the busy spring and summer season.

Type of work
Gardening, weeding...cutting grass
Help around the house
Some cooking and cleaning

We can offer bed and board for 4- 5 hours work a day (hours to suit weather)
Most of the work is in the garden and orchard that needs weeding, cutting grass, and mulching.

Planting NZ native plants is our next project to develop a native corridor of plants in the gully. There are plenty of jobs always needing to be done.

Most volunteers seem to want to work from 9 am until lunch time (1 pm), with a break for drinks and snacks, which suits us very well. We are completely flexible with regard to working hours, no steadfast rules. It will be the weather that will determine the day.

We would also expect you to help with the domestic chores, such as helping tidying up after meal times, general cleanliness of your accommodation, the usual day to day chores.

Languages spoken
English. David can speak some German, French and Japanese

Accommodation is a cosy cabin on site with a double bed separate shower & toilet; there is a campervan next to the cabin with double bed so there can be 2 separate beds if you are not a couple. The cabin is set apart from the main house. It has everything you need for a very comfortable stay, inc TV, Wi-Fi Breakfast can be taken in the cabin at your leisure.

What else ...
Non smokers only.

Whilst we live in the middle of the countryside, we are only 30 minutes from Nelson and 15 minutes from Motueka. We are 3.2km from the village of Mapua and 2.8km from Tasman or you can borrow our mountain bikes. Another option is walking via the beach which takes about half an hour longer and is very beautiful.

The area is renowned for its sunny weather, scenery, nature and walks. In the spring time it is a haven for bird watching. At the weekends there is always something going on. Best of all is the ability to sit outside your cabin and watch the sun go down.

We have 20 chickens, a pet pig and two petalpacas.

Suitable for 2 people at a time and short stays would be best (3-6 days).

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use