Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 2457
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes, except December
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1 - 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 2457
Country: Germany

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 4, 2018

We run a smallholding in a little village in the north of Germany, roughly betweeen Bremen (one hour by car) and Hamburg (one and a half hours by car, but also accessable by train, the nearest train station is Geestenseth). Our farm consists of an old thatched house and several outbuildings, 11 sheep plus 5 lambs, 20 chickens, five roosters and two cats. We have a fairly big vegetable garden, an old bakehouse, a greenhouse for tomatoes, cucumber & peppers, an orchard with loads of apple trees and a few pastures for haymaking. Depending on the season there is a variety of jobs we need help with, like digging, weeding, hay making, harvesting and preserving, apple picking and juice production or repairing and maintaining the buildings and fences. In January and February making firewood and work on the hedges are the main jobs.
We live mainly of what we produce ourselves, and try to be as environmentally conscious as possible, for example by using renewable energy.
We appreciate helpers who can use their initiative observing things that may need to be done & getting on with doing that job if they do not have much other work to do.
The jobs you would be asked to help with are
animal care,
help in the house and cooking,
general maintenance,
gardening, weeding, digging
cutting firewood and other jobs,
but there will also be time for chats about life, the universe and everything.
Some of the work, e.g. making firewood, is physically demanding, so a reasonable level of physical fitness is required.
Though we do have spare clothes that you can borrow you should also have old clothes that you don't mind getting dirty as it is not always possible to stay clean on the farm.

We speak English fluently and play Irish music. If you are interested you can learn old crafts like spinning or baking bread, and we can teach you some German if you like.
You will have your own bedroom with shower, and we will cook and eat together.
We think a minimum stay of two weeks is necessary to get acquainted with each other, the daily chores and the area.
If this sounds interesting to you contact us for further details.
Axel and Angelika

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use