help exchange   Host 24808
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2 plus
Category: Hospitality
Host ID: 24808
Country: Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 26, 2013

Hi I'm new to this, so here goes. Just viewing some of the host reviews HelpX looks like a brilliant idea and 'win win' situation for all concerned including a rewarding cultural experience. I have actually hosted foreign students in the past with no expectation of work! I am a people person and see value and amazing potential in every unique human being placed on God's earth. I can cook most things and accommodate most tastes, but am willing to let you loose in the kitchen if that is your thing.
I am taking short/long term bookings for volunteers on a building project in North Wales leading up to November/December 2013 and beyond. I can accommodate sooner than later with good references~to help on an exciting new project including wood work, mosaics, painting, glazing, restoring Georgian windows, stone work/ brickwork and general cleaning brushing up. I am doing up an old stone built end terrace property(Circa 1830's)with original old fires and well around the back, currently one log fire is operational, so could do with some help! Most of the building materials are reclaimed and recycled (especially wood)off skips and places like freecyle etc. I live in a very beautiful vale in small medieval market town with castle and lots of history and scenery. Easy access to the North Wales coast including Snowdonia National park and lots more castles/history. Offa's Dyke runs behind as the Vale of Clwyd carries you to a fabulous coastline with nature reserves and coastal cycle routes. I play hand drums in community church and enjoy guitar and most instruments including trumpet and Shofar. I also have a Celtic harp for you to learn on as well. Bicycles will be available and there is good local parkland with lake/river and various sports facilities for kids to play. This part of the UK has some of the most beautiful stunning scenery with traditional hedges and stone walls and lots of wildlife to see. Can go berry/fungi/nut picking if you don't leave it too late. You can hear the Welsh language spoken in shops etc and can also brush up on English if required. I have a car/motorcycle and can offer joy rides to tourist places and hill/mountain walks etc on days off. I am a skilled builder in stone/brick and solid wall plastering and am prepared to pass on my knowledge/skills. Can also teach some plumbing skills if required. There is an established craft center in the town. Ps The dog is a friends I take for walks.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use