Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 24891
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: 1-4
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 24891
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 1, 2013

Due to illhealth I am unable to share my home at present.
I'll let you know when I am back on top!!!

I live in an old handcrafted mud-brick and rammed-earth home surrounded by State Forest and farmland, 130 kms north west of Melbourne.

There are lots of lovely birds - parrots, thrushes, galahs, wrens, tree creepers - a twitcher's paradise! as well as kangaroos, echidnas, little lizards and (probably) snakes...there are sheep, horses, alpacas and cattle in the neighbours' paddocks.

The land around here was sluiced and mined for gold in the 1850s and consequently there is very little topsoil. It is an historical area with deep mines in the bush as well as the possibility of finding gold. Lovely little historical towns around here, too.

I live 4 kms from the nearest little village and there is no light pollution - night skies are amazing! The nearest town with a train station is 20 kms away but I can collect you from there if necessary.
My sons are grown up and I now live alone - I do have two little dogs (Jack Russell/Fox Terrier cross). I am creative and musical - I make quilts, draw, upcycle stuff, and also knit. I have House Concerts here, sing in a choir, and a musician recently recorded her latest CD here. Another musician friend is currently staying here in her caravan.

I could use some help with gardening (including building a small drystone walled garden) and am also planning a bathroom and kitchen renovation/extension. I would also love some help with house spring cleaning, painting and perhaps some wood chopping.

I am happy to help with English lessons if you need it. I have lived, worked and travelled overseas and appreciate the added advantage of knowing locals!
You can use my internet - wifi reaches most corners of my land.
I am also happy to have children. (I think!!)
In return for five hours work per day I will feed you three meals a day, and there are lovely comfy beds. I love cooking - I have done catering for parties, and for private clients, and also love providing meals for visitors (any excuse to bake)!
I cook on an 80 year old Rayburn wood burning stove, which also heats the hot water (there are also solar panels for hot water). I am on tank water which supplies all drinking and washing water as well as for the garden at times, so would appreciate your understanding about long showers and water wastage. There is a dam - perhaps swimming when the weather is hot?

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use