Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 25000
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Te Awamutu
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 25000
Region: Waikato

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 23, 2017

Welcome to our lifestyle block

We would like help with lawns that need mowing, weeding around trees, cutting gorse, line timming. We also need help with general housework and our inside projects.

After hosting over 30 helpers we think the most suited helpers are people who like dogs and get up in the morning by 7.30. We all have to eat so help with making food, clearing and doing the dishes is a must. We consider meal times to be social time not work time, also an ideal time to chat and learn stuff.

We are a gay couple of 13 years aged 34 & 40 living at an altitude of 300 meters on Mt Pirongia in our new barn house over looking the Waikato landscape. We have a good sense of humour, sociable, kind and honest and would like to share our Kiwi culture at the same time learning about other cultures. We are musicians who work from home self employed with one of us on the road 3 days a week. Our normal day is out of bed by 6.30 and in bed about 10pm.

Our property is 10 acres with a private native bush block that is 20 acres located between Pirongia National Park and a Forest - Park & Bird reserve. Cell phone coverage is near 100% and we have 4G Internet. In our spare time we raise cows, sheep, chickens, we also have Bee Hives and a very staunch cat.

We are located 45mins from Kawhia, 30mins from Hamilton, 30 mins from Waitomo, 20mins from Te Awamutu, 15 mins from Otorohanga so exploring is easier if you have your own car. Pickup from airport or bus stop is available by prior arrangement.

When we are traveling to other towns for business we can try to create day trips providing transport to and from with some suggested day activities. You are also welcome to tag along to shops, band gigs or other activities. The more of this country you get to see the better!

Can host One person, a couple or 2 singles. Our work changes regularly so let's start with 1 week and then discuss length of stay after that. Large room 24m2 (less junk) semi-detached with its own ensuite and kitchenette provided. New queen-size bed, and a single mattress. No smoking in room, house or vehicles, outside is OK, thanks.

We would like help with landscaping, establishing new gardens, general farm work, firewood, cooking (meals from other cultures are a bonus), house work and sometimes workshop jobs. Unfortunately animal care would make up less than 25% of jobs around the property.

It makes sense to be flexible to work whole days and take whole days off allowing visitors to travel further while maintaining a home base. We expect at least 4-5 hours per Day (depending on job difficulty) in exchange for accommodation, food and wi-fi access (you will need your own devices). Internet access is there for communication and research not entertainment please.

Looking forward to meeting you - Kevin & Nathan

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use