Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 25001
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 6.2
Persons: ONE, with transport.
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 25001
Region: Waikato

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 23, 2014


New Zealand weather is awesome as I write!

If you are traveling between the base of the Coromandel and Bay of Plenty and wish to experience a small farmlet with cows, horses, sheep, chickens, dog, cat in the Waihi area on a trout river surrounded by bush and peace, close to a forest park, this might be the perfect place for you! I live here with my youngest son (15) and write from home as well as running a part time equine veterinary dental practice. Following a back injury, I've given up my regular practice.

I am looking for people who want to contribute an average of four hours positive, willing, productive work per day in exchange for accommodation and real food. We can currently take only ONE person at a time, unless you want to tent-it or stay in your campervan! You need your own transport, even if it is a bicycle, so that you can go out and do things! We are 10 km from town, but we are 6 km from the Hauraki Rail Trail and can go many places from there on bicycles!

We are (DRIVING TIMES-- not near town!):
-5 minutes WALK to a Dept of Conservation Forest Park entrance
-5 minutes drive from the Karangahake Gorge, with its bush walks
-5 minutes drive to the Hauraki Rail Trail (new bicycle trail linking Te Aroha, Thames, Paeroa and Waihi!-- 6 km away)
-5 minutes from a fantastic restaurant, chef/owner won the NZ Wild Foods competition few years ago!
-close to surf beaches (20 min Waihi Beach, 45 minutes from Whangamata, 1 hour from Mt. Maunganui)
-10 min from nearest shops at Waihi town , (10 kilometres!!!!!)
-20 minutes to Paeroa (more shops and antiques). All major bus companies stop in Waihi, on the regular run from Auckland to Tauranga: , for you and your bicycle.
-30 minutes to Katikati, with its Friday market!
-1 hour from Tauranga and Hamilton,_New_Zealand?
-1 hours from Auckland

YOU NEED TO HAVE YOUR OWN CAR OR BICYCLE -- as there is no public transport outside of Waihi, AND WE ARE TEN KILOMETERS FROM ANYWHERE! although an avid bicyclist would have a blast.

Again, I desire someone who can help out for 4 hours average in the mornings in exchange for accommodation and real food. Currently, I'm fencing off all waterways (I've nearly done all the fencing!) and planting those areas in New Zealand Native species. and supporting these plants and other things, gardening, helping around the house and farmlet, all the little things that need doing here. I am growing seedlings right now and planting up the veggie gardens, doing square-foot gardens this year. We have a fruit orchard with many kinds of fruit trees (plums, apples, limes, lemons, feijoas, passionfruit, figs, etc, oranges, grapefruit, etc.), a berry orchard, veggie gardens, free range hens, sheep, cows and horses.

I don't expect you to do what I won't, other than helping with heavy things I can no longer lift after my back injury. We eat "real" food here and I love to cook. We do eat a lot of meat in this house, so if you're vegetarian, it might not work for you, unless you can happily survive others eating it around you and are willing to cook for yourself.

We seek positive people who are respectful of animals, people, the land and our beautiful home. Helpers must be honest, clean, reliable and enthusiastic, fit, keen people who aren't afraid of hard physical work. Must definitely be kind, friendly, tolerant, nice people, and be ok with dogs. As I am seriously allergic, no smokers, sorry. Also, no drug users or heavy drinkers. This would not be suitable for very young children, as we have a pool and river swimming holes, plus electric fencing. That being said, let's get the work done and have some fun! There are swimming holes, a pool, nearby ocean and walking tracks, animals and the most amazing place to do outdoor things in! Again, a car is necessary, as there is no public transport outside of Waihi, although an avid bicyclist would have a blast.

I look forward to hearing from you! I have lived in NZ for 23 years and come from an Americo-European background (USA/Danish/Russian/etc.). We have wireless internet (reasonable use, email check, etc. NOT unlimited). Cellphones usually work from our front gateway.

Feel free to email and tell us a bit about yourself if you're interested in staying with us. Thanks very much for reading!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use