Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 25164
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Te Puke
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 70
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 25164
Region: Bay of Plenty

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 7, 2016

Only helpers on a Working holiday visa will be accepted.

This listing is to receive 1 helper only. Sorry we are not set up to receive 2 persons at the same time unless you have your own like van.

We prefer a helper confident around horses and experienced with them. I don't have the time to teach someone who will stay one or two week to work with horses.

We are situated in a beautiful valley near Te Puke, Rotorua, Tauranga, Whakatane in the Bay of Plenty. We have a farm where we graze dairy heifers and breed horses, American Saddlebreds, Arabians, Warmbloods and their crosses. They are in grass paddocks all year round so no stables. We have a special rare Champagne Saddlebred stallion from USA and an Arab stallion from Australia. We breed exiting rare colours, palomino buckskin cremello smoky cream and Champagne.

Some work in exchange of food and accommodation.

I also can drive you around to visit the good spots, Mount Manganui, Tauranga, Rotorua, Whakatane, generally I organise a place to visit once a week...

I mainly need help with general work related to horses like rotating grazing, feeding, handling horses and young stock, grooming, foot trimming. There is 1 horse for riding but hasn't been ridden for a while so only experienced person also a 13.2hh pony very quiet. Can trek in the farm or forest at the door.

If you have the knowledge I need to lay a new flooring flotting pose.

Some weeds spraying and some gardening. Also contribution to daily housework duties. I will not be sitting while you do the work I will work alongside doing the same.

We also graze dairy heifers but there is no work asked in regard to this.

You will be part of the family in all aspect with bedroom inside the house. You will have access to a computer to check/answer your emails. Sorry no wi-fi password provided due to abuse from previous helpers over using our internet. We have limited data per month.

We have a beautiful river at the back and can provide a kayak for your enjoyment. We are a short drive to lakes and the beach. Our farm is surrounded by forests you can explore walking or biking. Bikes available. We have also a swimming pool.

We are rural so your own transport would be great but we are happy to pick you up in town and to take you along when we go to town.

We have cats, important to specify if you are allergic to cats. We absolutely don't want people with allergies or hay fever problems or sick. We have just had a helper with allergies and the flu and we all ended up sick including my little girl.

For the committed and worker helper, I drove them to visit (once a week) one or more of the following places depending of the stay length: Rainbow Mountain Scenic Reserve, Waimangu Volcanic Valley, Wai-O-Tapu Geothermal Wonderland, Rainbow Springs Kiwi wildlife reserve, Whakarewarewa Thermal reserve, Wingspan National birds of Prey reserve, Tauranga, Mount Manganui, Whakatane, Rotorua, Papamoa, Te Puke and even Hobbiton where the Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit was filmed in Matamata, lakes and beaches, use of the kayak in the river at the back of the farm and the bike in surrounding forests.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use