Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 25181
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 12
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 25181
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 29, 2013

Welcome to our home !

We are a English couple with a very large extended animal family. Shelley stays at home caring for our many dogs, cats, chickens, turkeys, geese, pigs, goats and many others. She loves cooking, gardening, playing board games walking the dogs and is a keen photographer.
Laurence is a stone mason by trade and passionate about traditional building methods and if not working is renovation our home.
We enjoy traveling and seeing the world when not busy renovating/converting our home.


In the garden : We are after many years having a big change around, preparing for the winter and next spring = mulching, composting, rotation of the cultures, installing new raised beds not totally finish. Building lots of traditional dry stone walls, fencing, shed building for animals, laying paths.

In the kitchen you will normally always find Shelley making cakes

The house is our main project : We are knocking through old walls to make 12 new openings using traditional materials and methods.Building a large stone fireplace, underfloor heating, insulating, wiring, plumbing the list is endless

If you are interested in either working on the land, with animals on the restoration of the house or just general mucking in you are most welcome.

We moved in 2009 very blindly after seeing our stunning old barn on a 2 week holiday. We are based in a beautiful rural farming area with natural lakes for swimming rivers for fishing or canoeing.
We are close enough both Poitiers and Angouleme for day trips to the big city if you wish with local markets several times a week.

Our goal is self-sufficiency, we prefer local products, we are not big consumers, we try to respect the seasonal products, we like to explore this beautiful country, and Shelley is a keen photographer. We love Nature and are always inspired by its beauty and try to respect it... We're not vegetarian, and enjoy many BBQs in the warmer months but we can cater for vegetarian.

Accommodation in your separate basic bedroom. It is a small double so we can take couples. Food, use of vehicle to help explore area.
We prefer helpers who have an interest in our simple lifestyle.
We speak English, and a little bit of french (still on steep learning curve). We ask our helper to work 4 hours/day + 2 day off. We prefer longer staying guests, ideally a stay of 2 weeks but we are happy to be flexible if for a shorter stay.
We can pick you up in Poitiers, Ruffec train station or from either Limoges or Poitiers airport. Or if you wish to drive we have plenty of parking spaces.

See you soon.

Shelley and Laurence

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use