Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 25217
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): Farm 320, Gardens 2.5
Persons: 1-2 people
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 25217
Region: Northland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 9, 2016

Hi helpers! My name is Raewyn, my son Simon and I built up our Helpx program over the last few years and now we are back. My sister Debbie (a lovely lady), my husband Tom (a nice man) and I Raewyn are the remaining team and we can't wait to have more friendly faces around the place once again :D Please read the comments and especially of the people that stayed with Tom and I if you want to understand the culture of our gardens project. We love this project!

G'day travellers, Simon here! I used to live at the gardens with my friend Leigh and work with the helpers however, now my mum is well again I started working in CHCH. The helpers loved staying with Mum and Tom who were with us most days at the gardens whenever they could. Now you get to meet my lovely Aunty Debbie too she's cool. I hope I can meet some of you and if you are in Christchurch let me know let's meet.

The accommodation is a two room gottage (garage cottage) where you will have your own space and be able to prepare your own meals. Both my sister (Debbie) and I (Raewyn) will be with you every day to show you around and show you the work but in the afternoons and evening you will be free to do as you please :D If you prefer (as some helpers do )to practice English, then you can talk with us about staying at the farm and meet Tom my husband too who will also occasionally be at the gardens. Please let me know which you prefer.

I won't elaborate too much more about the place, I think I have covered most things. We do our best to take you to a few places however, Tom and I work every day and it can be a bit hard to get away. We will enjoy some fun local activities so you can experience the real kiwi life.The location is great for activities so it will be much better if you have your own transport. There are beautiful freshwater dune lakes, endless beaches, small mountain hikes and views, fishing, kiwi viewing and many more all within an hours drive.

We will provide:
Food, accommodation, good people and a good insight into kiwi life :)

Helpers bring:
No specific experience necessary, a FANTASTIC attitude :), an insight into your country and culture, and the ability to SOCIALISE :) and some nice manners :D

Accommodation availability:
Greenhouse gottage - at present 1 room 2 beds, kitchen, bathroom, shower and lounge room. In addition to the housing there is plenty of room for tents and campervans.

* No internet or wifi sorry but is available for free in the town at the library. The town is about 2 minutes drive from the Gardens. There is only an old TV but you can play DVD's if you want. I have lots of DVD's :D.

We will provide the food for 3 main meals and some snacks during the day which you are welcome to help yourself of course. We will usually have lunch together.

Work: 4-6 hours a day
We have a farm, greenhouse and produce property so the tasks may vary a lot. On the farm - fencing, building, rounding up cattle, gardening, landscaping, feeding the animals etc.
At the gardens - picking, planting, weeding, watering, stringing up plants, grounds maintenance, lawn-mowing, general gardening work, etc. We usually have at least a week of work so please try to make time for at least one week with us.

We usually try to start early as it can get very hot in the greenhouse. We try to start early and finish early with a morning tea break. It's not too strict but we like to have a good structure. It's good for you too because you can get away and do activities after the work.

20 minutes drive from the west coast, good for fishing, collecting shellfish or chilling out. 40 minutes drive from Kai Iwi Lakes, beautiful dune lakes which are a popular summer destination for swimming and watersports. 50 minutes drive from Piroa Falls, great for swimming and chilling. 50 minutes from a place where you can do Kiwi spotting, the place is called Trounson Park and you can almost always see a kiwi. 1 hour from Waipoua Forest where you can view a MASSIVE Kauri tree called Tane Mahuta. The area is a great hub for lots of activities :D

We will look forward to hearing from you and can't wait to meet some new friends we keep in touch with some of our helpers even 2 years after meeting :D

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use