Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 25400
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 3
Category: Other
Host ID: 25400
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 20, 2015

We are a couple from Essex and are both very sociable and love to have a laugh and a good time
We moved to Spain in 2010 and bought a Cortijo which was a complete ruin, only four walls really is what we brought in a rural area, our local town is Orce which is approx 9km away. Over the years we have been restoring the property but now due to ill health, we now need help to complete our project.
we have 3 very excited dogs and a cat.

Ideally we are looking for positive and motivated people that is not opposed to getting their hands dirty! We have lots of different jobs that we need help with and work varies according the time of the year.

We enjoy sharing a cup of coffee with our guests, but just don't have time to show them round our local area and/or provide entertainment. This is why we tend to get on better with self sufficient people. You will have your privacy and we expect to have ours too.

We live in a small Spanish village in Andalucia (just one hour and half from Granada) It's probably important to point out that we're located in a quite rural area. We live in an old stone Spanish farmhouse, set in a perfect but remote location to relax, read or walk.
You will be working/helping 5 hours a day, Monday to Friday. Weekends and after work time are all free days to explore the wonderful area. Great place for walking and sight seeing.
This exchange offer is principally for people who like working outdoors doing energetic, physical labour in a methodical manner. Building skills such as carpentry, plastering, tiling, fencing, rendering, painting and decorating are very useful, and basic DIY skills would be great if not, no problem. Work varies according the time of the year. Ideally our helpers would want to stay at least one month and be prepared to work hard for worthwhile results, we would consider a longer term arrangement for the right people. We are looking forward to meeting new people.

The minimum stay is two weeks, the apartment is located on the middle floor of the Cortijo and is self contained. spacious, well equipped and comfortable.

Hope you like good home made tasty food,as I'm a not a bad cook! A little hand on with prep of meals and kitchen duties would be really appreciated.

You will be staying in the apartment, where there is 2 bedrooms, one is a twin room and one is a double bedroom, you may have to share the bedroom's with another helper of the same sex. English TV in the apartment and Spanish TV in the games room. Due to our location mobile signal is very weak if any at all. there will be limited free WiFi available which is from 3pm to 7pm in the games room and is for emails and skype calls only, if you have your own devices with internet connection they must be used only in the games room, NOT the apartment. You will also be expected to repair or replace any breakages you do to anything in the apartment and/or our property during your stay

When writing to us please tell us a little about yourself if not in your profile: What have you done since leaving school? Where you are from? Any skills? Education? Hobbies? even if unrelated to the type of work we are doing. Our helpers are guests in our home and we would like to know more about them!

We expect you to be responsible, think on your feet, be able to integrate and welcome any challenges.

Our Property has a fully operative bar, with a games room, which has a pool table, table tennis table and dart board.

Without wanting to state the obvious, Helpers are responsible for treating everyone at the property with respect, showing reasonable care and courtesy in and about the property, as well as for following the host's rules of conduct and security.

The area has few foreign tourists and is a good place to learn and practice Spanish. It is a rural area, but the local town of Orce has a night life, particularly in the summer, where bars and discos stay open until the early hours.
The cortijo is situated in a small village that contains some Spanish owned second homes (used at holiday times), but which is very quiet for the rest of the year.

Looking forward to hearing from you and meeting new people.

Helpers should have their own voluntary work insurance cover whilst staying with us.

We speak very little Spanish

We look forward to welcoming people to our home

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use