help exchange   Host 25405
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: no
Area (ha): 3.24
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 25405
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 16, 2018

We have availability Unfortunately we cannot cater for vegetarians or special diets. Also you must be able to work on your own initiative and have a basic understanding of the English language.
We are looking for a person or a couple who could stay in a bedroom in the main house. We would like them to stay one to two weeks, although longer stays are possible if we get on well. References are essential, either personal or employment if you don't have previous Helpx experience.

We ask for 5 to 6 hours work on 5 days a week in return for all meals and accommodation. The hours are flexible to enable any attraction visits or sightseeing you may wish to do.
This is a working smallholding with a mix of Rare Breed Pigs, Alpacas, Chickens and a large worm breeding unit. There is also a butchery and farm shop where we produce and sell pork produce so it may not be a suitable helpx experience for vegetarians or people with strict religious beliefs.
We are a non-smoking household so only non-smokers can be accommodated.

We would require help feeding the animals in the morning (Pigs,Alpacas,Chickens and dogs). Also picking and packing worms ready for delivery to customers although this is dependant on the time of the year. Other jobs around the farm are the vegetable garden and the construction of a polytunnel. Also some painting and decorating as the house is very old and requires constant maintenance. We would also require help on the stalls at the local farmers markets and craft fairs that we attend.
Please note that we are a working farm and that tasks are labourus and not for the feint hearted. How ever we do not expect you to do anything we wouldn't do ourselves.

Surfing is available at Bude on the North Cornwall coast approximately fourteen miles away.
There are many local walks. Especially along the North Devon coast, which is very scenic. Dartmoor National Park is only twenty minutes by car. We are also close to Roadford Lake which offers sailing, windsurfing, rowing, kayaking and trout angling as well as a cycle way and walks.
Also within a mile (ten minute walk) there is a good local village pub, post office and newsagent, and a very pleasant community.

Useful information for helpers.
We supply clothes to work in when it is raining, and for dirty jobs.
We have wifi and use of laptop if required.
We have a washing machine, hair dryer, and a bike that you can use.

Do I need:
Sleeping bag No
Work gloves No we will supply.
Boots Maybe that's up to you.
A water proof coat yes although we will supply waterproof work gear.
A flashlight may be useful sometimes
Towels No
Bedding No
Generally we can supply most things you may need.

It is best for you and for us if you can arrive on a weekday except Fridays.
Weekend arrivals and departures are difficult as there is limited public transport and we are usually out. However with plenty or prior notice we could arrange weekend arrivals.
If you are travelling here by train or bus to Exeter it is 45 miles away or you can get a bus from Exeter, to Holsworthy where you can be picked up. If you have your own transport we have off-road parking.
Please note that we are a very rural location nearest town is 6 miles away where the bus stop is.
I prefer first contact to be by email please

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use