Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 25636
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Learmonth
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 46
Persons: up to 5 .
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 25636
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 13, 2018


Even though it is winter in Victoria here you will be very very warm. Our house is aways warm. We have big wood fires and an old 4 oven AGA wood stove which go day and night.

We live on a farm which provides a great deal of our food. We always have meat ( chicken, pork, beef, lamb) in the freezer and eggs ( duck , guinea fowl, pheasant, hen) and goat milk. We also grow vegetables.

At this time we are setting up vegetable gardens for later planting

We have fabulous food every day - Thai curries, pizzas, roasts, stews. There is always a LOT of food. We make our own beer and wine and ginger beer and lemonade . We make jams and pickles and cheese and butter. We do not take vegetarians or vegans.

We live about 25km from Ballarat in Victoria and can pick people up from the railway station if you do not have a car.

HELPXers who are here generally help (voluntarily) about 5 hours a day.
Ours is a small (120 acre) mixed farm with a goat dairy, sheep, cattle, poultry and donkeys.

We speak both French and German reasonably and have travelled.
We often look after our two year old grandson and have a LOT of visitors and people coming to have meals with us- mostly young people.

We have dogs who come into the house including our two very large Irish Wolfhounds and a new sheep dog puppy.

HELP NEEDED INVOLVES
1. Goat milking and shed cleaning either at 6.00am or in the evening . Attention to hygiene to ensure milk quality is essential.
2. Care of organic market garden - weeding , hoeing,planting , manuring, harvesting.
3. Feeding animals ( baby lambs and kids and calves and feeding out hay using a tractor)
4. Painting and decorating .
5. Harvesting and preserving and helping at seasonal markets.

All helpers sleep in their own private bedrooms in the house. Couples welcome.
At the moment we have a French intern from a university in Toulouse. She will be here for three months . We are also about to host a young veterinarian from Chile for a few weeks - but there is still plenty of room !

We usually have three or so helpers at one time
Most of our HELPX and WWoofers stay several months here (because they like it) but we are fine about shorter stays.

My husband has bone cancer, so we welcome extra help from strong fit people . Although he is also very fit at the moment, he is 71.

You can look at our Facebook page " Cremona Hillside Farm " where helpers have recorded a video of the farm and there are lots of pictures of what we are doing now.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use