Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 25674
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


plymouth
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 25674
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 4, 2018

I am in The South West of England lovely spot close to Dartmoor National Park and also the Devon/Cornwall border in the country? Very scenic close to great walking country.

English speaking non smoking please.

Help is needed for ongoing gardening work and help looking after ducks and chickens cats and dogs all the animals here are free range and pets. I eat meat but none of my own birds.

If you love animals and gardens you will fit right in here. Do you know the difference between plants and weeds?

The garden is open to the public for charity (a local hospice) it is very large and needs year round maintenance which can be heavy and often dirty work. I also have animals to look after but they do not take as much time to see to as the garden so if you don`t like to garden then this would not suit you. It would also only be good if you like animals.

I am in the country one mile from the nearest public transport to Plymouth, 6 miles away, which has a population of around 250,000 a biggish city to visit for both interest and shopping. A great area if you like hiking and landscape there are bikes here for you to use.

My two pet dogs and three cats live in the house with us but outside there are 22 ducks and 7 chickens to feed, put to bed at night and let out again in the morning and clean out as required. Two of the chickens like to come into the kitchen in the morning sometimes looking for crumbs they are pets as well as egg layers.

The cats and dogs all like affection so you need to be an animal lover to come here as the cats will want to sit on you sometimes and all the animals like human contact. However, they are not allowed upstairs so your rooms are just for you you don`t have to share them.

There always seems to be something that has come off its hinges or a poultry house that needs repair, there is a wide range of things to do mostly outside, and predominantly gardening.

NOT SUITABLE FOR helpers only wanting light inside work or childminding.

Both dogs have a gentle nature and are friendly they live happily with all the other animals here and love to be taken out for walks where they can run free, I am restricted somewhat by arthritis, some days better than others and don`t always manage this so would appreciate your help with this.

CATERING - I will cook one meal a day when we sit down to eat together but every other meal you will be required to prepare yourself from the food provided which is a basic but adequate larder. If you want anything different or extra from my basic supplies there is a very large supermarket a little over one mile away, or a 25 minute walk. There is also a pizza parlour, bakery, post office and other shops.

I am always happy to talk and share conversation my English is without accent so I should be easy to understand.

I ask that you leave everything you use clean and tidy so that it creates a good atmosphere for all of us living together as a family. All helpers wash up after a shared meal so that no individual is left with a lot of work. I am careful with the world`s resources this includes the use of water don`t keep the taps running whilst you clean your teeth and 5 minute showers. The washing machine is available for use once a week and I dry everything in the fresh air and don`t use a tumble drier. I recycle and reuse everything possible, plastic is a danger to humanity we now know so am careful with using and disposing it, we have to be very responsible to save this wonderful planet of ours

Plymouth city center, a 6 mile bus ride away, has a great shopping center, the theater, many cinemas, museum, art gallery, a huge new sports center and also an interesting historical area down by the Barbican. Plenty to see and do in the area. You can catch public transport to the city a one mile walk from the cottage.

I am a relaxed personality and friendly, love people and life, honest and sincere I hope you are too. I am happy for you to stay with me and learn about the way of life here and hope that even though you are working you will enjoy it here. There is a lot to see and do in the area whether you like the countryside and beautiful scenery with quaint little villages tucked away, walking the coastal paths, rivers and woods or the open moors. Dartmoor national park and the Cornish/Devon coast has it all.
There are also bicycles here available for you to use to explore the area.

I will take you out as much as my time and energy allow to see the beauty of this area the dogs almost always come too as we go to the Dartmoor National Park quite a lot.

The work here seems to be ongoing especially in the garden, it would be good to spend a week first to see if we are happy with each other and then longer if it suits us both. So far many of the helpers that have been here have made a lot of progress with the many and varied jobs here and we have learned a lot from each other in all sorts of ways. Currently we are working on the garden and it is looking good with all the work accomplished but is an ongoing project. We use the no dig method of growing vegetables and also garden organically using no pesticides.

Can you work unsupervised once you have been shown what needs doing? I require 5 hours per day with two days off per week, plus letting the birds out in the morning and putting to bed at night which takes about another 10 minutes.

Gardening can be hard work but it is very rewarding to see such good results and the helpers so far have been very pleased that their work has made the garden look so different.

Old and waterproof clothes for working, waterproof boots and tough gardening gloves are essential the English climate is unpredictable and work cannot be put on hold until good weather is with us. Having said that we do have some lovely weather, especially in summer and the bad weather never seems to last for more than a few days. I do have an odd pair of rubber boots spare but couldn`t promise that they would be your size, the same with gloves for working in.

Unlimited wi fi means you can download films if you want to view on your laptop etc but there are t.v.s here too.

Lastly, I am unable to cater for special diets.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use