help exchange   Host 25686
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 25686
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 21, 2019

Accommodation in our lowly but characterful three hundred year old fen edge cottage. Its scruffy and often a bit dirty as I'm decluttering the house and improving a horse yard Iíve just taken over these days. But summer is still here and its beautiful if you like animals and countryside and medieval cities and scruffy old cottages.

Its exactly halfway along the road from Cambridge to Newmarket, the capital of horseracing. Itís 7 miles from each centre. That takes about 15 mins in flowing traffic and considerably more in rush hour.
Urgently in need of helpers at the moment Please come

There is a bus into town(s) from the corner and there is also the park and ride service which is cheaper and quicker than the regular bus which is nearby so we can always run you to or from there in our car.

We are a couple in our mid sixties. I'm a semi-retired freelance English language teacher, trainer. My hope is to care for retired horses along with my own. I also have 4 cats, a dog, a bald parrot and I look after ferrets. Iím vegetarian and almost vegan. I speak English and Spanish.

Liam was a contract manager in construction and is now retired. He is Irish and is full of warmth and stories and quick wit. He is based in Spain but is currently in the UK

Help urgently needed with daily poopicking, weeding and fencing at the yard which is a 15 min drive away.
Work at Home in the cottage would include jobs such as helping me declutter and get ready to move.
The rest of the time is yours to do with as you choose. read, draw, walk, sight-see, mooch around the house whatever... Horse lovers would be encouraged to spend time with the horses. They all friendly and safe to be around. Ive got two seniors, one gelding cob called Gunna ,an Arab mare called Willow and a sect B Welsh pony called Rosie.
I also have a dog called Molly a recent rescue and an adorable kitten.

They are used to being treated gently, quietly and with respect. No dominance methods of training are used and horses are given choices and have as much liberty as possible. They are my friends and so I would expect you to do the same.

I'm trying to be very clear here because sometimes I'm not. Reading back it doesn't sound like me. I'm scatty and messy, generally cheerful and tolerant and easy going. Certainly not, however, the hostess with the mostess but you will enjoy it here if you you just muck in and help yourself if meals are not looking imminent.

Smokers welcome but only downstairs where the open fireplace clears smoke away. Non smokers will not have smoke imposed on them.

Cooking enthusiasts particularly welcome because I'm not! My partner is not bad though so don't panic!

hope to hear from someone soon, really need some help.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use