Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 25950
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1/4 acre house & garden
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 25950
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 25, 2015

Denis Ryan (76), lives at this wonderful beach house retreat. The house is a 4 bedroom property with two bathrooms, open plan living, spacious kitchen with all mod cons. The deck and garden are superb and offer peace and quiet around the property and is very low maintenance due to the clever planting of natives and flowering shrubs. It is a haven for exotic birds & possums.

In exchange for 4 hours a day, one day off a week, you will be accommodated in a comfortable, light and airy bedroom, with use of one of the two bathrooms.

You need to have a clean driving licence and be able and willing to use the car for necessary trips. These might include taking husband Denis (who's wheelchair bound) to the local swimming pool for his class and picking him up again just outside of Geelong in Grovedale. As Denis was a keen surfer it may mean driving to checkout the waves at Bells or wherever.

To enjoy the beach is a 5mins walk , 5 mins walk to shops, cafes, restaurants, lovely hikes along beaches, cliff tops . Famous surf spots abound, like Bell's Beach, Winkypop (10 min drive). Some great golf clubs at hand including the lovely Anglesea Golf course which has many kangaroos. The Great Ocean Rd down to the 12 Apostles. Ottway ranges with great rainforest walks. Public transport (Buses) at hand.

Wanted : From end of September for 2-3months a single guy (25years and over) with caring or nursing experience, a can do attitude, good sense of humour, energy and enthusiasm to assist Denis with a range of day to day activities such as food preparation, shopping and getting to appointments. Helping around the house with cleaning also. Denis is an artists. He had a stroke 3 1/2 years ago, has good mobility to self care around all toilet and washing needs. He is in a wheel chair, has good use of his right hand and can stand up and walk but needs to be supervised during certain times.

Denis was a highly successful fashion, commercial photographer and set up Ryans Comp cards and with Cendrine his wife, more recently The Colourful People Modelling Agency. Denis has been a keen surfer all his life and was part of the discovery of the famous Bells Beach, Torquay and is well known amongst the creators of Rip Curl. He is a passionate artist, loves his work and play and has been an important mentor and was instrumental in establishing many of Australian best known models. He is a spiritual person, loves his healthy food and is a true gentleman.

The right person needs to be fit, healthy and able to speak english well. They need to want to live and contribute to a clean, tidy & highly organised household. Extra duties may include cooking, cleaning, gardening and other odds and sods.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use