Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 26148
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: March to September
Area (ha): 9
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 26148
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 8, 2017


Unfortunately we have paused our hosting of helpers for the next while as we start to renovate our house in January 2017.

Please check out our website or follow & like us on our Facebook, Twitter & Instagram page to see updates of spaces becoming available .

Read some of the reviews from our helpers on our Facebook page.

My partner & I moved in August 2012 & have been working hard at setting this place up as a self-sufficient organically run smallholding. We are located in the beautiful valley of Glenasmole on the foothills of the Dublin Mountains.

The holding is made up of 8.5 acres which is set out into several paddocks, there are also stables & plenty of sheds. The sand arena has become our veg garden & it is laid out in some raised beds & a polytunnel, with loads more to make.

We also now have another 13 acres rented from a neighbor.

We have had volunteers from September to December in 2012 and this was our first experience at being a host and we saw this as a great opportunity for both the host & volunteer to learn a lot. I am a qualified horticulturist with a keen interest in growing my own food organically & becoming more self-sufficient. I think I can offer a lot to interested volunteers who are interested in this way of living & I am willing to share all my knowledge in this way.

We grow a lot of our own fruit & veg, we also keep hens, geese, goats, bees, cows & sheep. From March to October I milked our goats every evening & we had been using the milk since last March, yoghurt since April & recently cheese.

We are living in a rural area but very close to the city, the main M50 ring motorway is a 5 minute drive and the city centre is approx. 25mins by car or taxi. Glenasmole valley and reservoirs are in a Special Area of Conservation (SAC).

We have a self-contained summer-house next to the vegetable garden that is in need of some repairs and upgrading. For 2014 we are looking for 2 volunteers (maybe a couple) to stay in the summerhouse and help in its restoration. We are looking for volunteers that would like to stay for anything from 1 - 6 months (between March & October).

Please get in contact if interested and take a look at my blog to see what we are doing.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use