help exchange   Host 26194
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Staten Island
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 26194
Region: Mid Atlantic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 31, 2020

For 2020 HelpXers please include the exact time frame you are looking to helpX. Please be specific and clear so we can check our availability.

We are a family of 4. My partner and I are former circus performers, we have two school aged children. Our children are spirited, loving, and gentle children who enjoy meeting new people. They love to share about their interests and hobbies. During the school year we need extra help with household errands and chores, occasionally child care, but not often.

Our ideal helpXer would blend into our family unit, is willing to help around the house, for example helping with chores or helping children with their chores, occasional errands. Hopefully nothing that would be more than your own parents or family would expect from you were you living with them. We would hope you enjoy being with the family, but it is not required.

Because we are not trying to find a "worker bee" we do not keep a set schedule for our helpXers. If you are here looking at graduate schools or exploring the city we are flexible and can accommodate the day to day things when you are around. We prefer that helpXers contribute to the home community by pitching in with chores daily as it fits into their schedule. Unload the dishwasher, help start a load of laundry, nothing that would take more than a small effort. It is very helpful if you can work independently without much oversight, but also if you are conscientious of the surroundings. We do ask that you are flexible with us as well. The children enjoy having a helpXer that can engage them and work with them on creative and adventurous endeavors, as well as just being around to chat or play board or table top games. Sometimes the biggest help to me (Christine) is keeping the children company or helping them tidy their room.

We are most interested in hosting gradstudents here on exchange who have had previous co-operative living experiences. Ideal helpXers are also familiar with living in small homes or apartments, with communal spaces that are shared by all.
We also have a need for help with some minor repairs around the apartment. If you have experience with construction, home repairs, hanging/framing doors and/or closet structures we could use your help!

We are 4 people and 3 cats, and one chinchilla living in a 2 bedroom apartment, with 2 bathroom and a small kitchen, and living room, so our space can feel cramped sometimes. We offer access to wifi, TV, and the kitchen and living room. Both spaces are communal space and able to be used by a helpXer. Because the shared common space living room is adjacent to the children's bedroom we try to keep it quiet or at least minimize noise after children go to bed. During the morning this area is very busy, it serves as dining space and getting ready space for the kids. As our home is small and would expect the helpxer be comfortable with shared common spaces, and not making a lot of loud noise after the children go to bed, or not be bothered by early risers. :)

Some months we have the 2nd bed + bath room available for use by the helpXer exclusively other months we do not. Please let us know if you require the private room. We will try to accommodate, but it is not always possible. The 2nd room at the moment doubles as our storage space, so it is a bit crowded but there is a bed and small space to store a suitcase, or hang clothing. We prefer stays between a few weeks and a month but are open to longer stays if the fit is good.

We are about 10-15 minute walk from the Staten Island Ferry, 30 minutes by ferry boat to/from lower Manhattan, in the borough of Staten Island. Close to public-transit and easily accessible by airports, car, and most Eastern Rail line. We can NOT pick you up at the airport, but we maybe able to pick you up at the ferry terminal if necessary.

Special note for clarity sake:

We are not a hostel or hotel. We do expect that you will help around the house. As this is a help exchange, we agree to provide a safe place to stay, with shared bathroom access, you are welcome to join us for at least 1 meal a day with the family, but we are NOT able to provide unlimited amounts of food, drink, snacks. We do hope you would understand that we feel this is more than fair arrangement. Unfortunately, if we feel you are taking advantage of us we may ask you to leave or find a new host as soon as possible.

Thank you for taking the time to read our listing.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use