help exchange   Host 26201
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1/4 acre
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 26201
Region: Mid Atlantic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 3, 2020

I am a retired U.S. diplomat with extensive overseas experience, including two years in Iraq. I am continuing to work at the Department of State part-time during the week. I am also the sole proprietor of a Bernese Mountain Dog operation, raising and training these companion animals. This is a large Swiss breed of the Working Dog Group that has many wonderful traits. I have three dogs, Nora, 9 1/2 years (acquired July '15), a boy, Mirko, nearly seven years old, from Belgium, and a young girl, Bindi 21 months. My dogs normally participate in a variety of performance activities including agility, drafting, herding and obedience and I would expect my HelpXer to assist in those efforts on occasion.

I plan on breeding Bindi in the near future and will absolutely need another pair of hands to help with her care if/when she has puppies. General kennel and household/yard chore duties are also expected. My preferred length of stay would be at least two weeks to a month or longer. I currently have one HelpXer with me. The guest (non-smoking please) would have full usage of the downstairs area of my house, which includes a private bedroom, bath and living area.

My property is located in the Washington, DC area, with the Dunn Loring Metro stop on the Orange Line a short distance away for easy access to downtown DC and all its tourist venues. Other nearby attractions include the Shenandoah National Park, a two-hour drive away, as well as other hiking areas in Virginia and Maryland. The Zillow link above shows pictures (taken in 2012) of my house.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use