Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 26258
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Voditsa nr Popovo
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4500m2
Persons: 1-6
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 26258
Country: Bulgaria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 15, 2016

This year I am hoping to have a 3 sections of work around - April, June then September. And would like to have 4-6 volunteers for each time and for volunteers to be coming for 3-5 weeks. The work will vary depending on the season, but this year I plan to be planting less in the garden and getting more of the project work done. So If you have some building skills, actual or aspiring or creative eye - great, if not practical and enthusiastic are also great skills.

April - Some spring cleaning and reshaping of the garden and some planting,
June - Getting the tomatoes etc in, managing the flowers and fruit.
September - mostly bottling and jarring and the yummy stuff for the winter.

There are also loads of building and re-designing or areas I want to get done, I have the materials I just haven't given them the time for the last few years. This will be mostly from wood, mud and other reclaimed materials.

*** Special request - During each of these times I'd love someone to take on the cooking as their main job. If that doesn't work out then maybe taking it on a weekly rotation. This will give me more time to be hands on involved in the work***

We are always looking to share and learn new skills, especially about alternative options and how to manage all this fruit - pickling and preserving are autumns main tasks. I really enjoy doing anything with mud and will try and have some projects on the go at all time. Danchos' plan for the year is bee keeping.

We have a house in the centre of the village that can accommodate up to 8 volunteers. It has a shower, living areas and kitchen. As well as garden area. We live about an 10 minute walk away at the other side of the village. Last year was the first year we had volunteers here - and please read the feedback to see how they liked it!

Volunteers breakfast on their own and other meals would be with us in the main house or outside in the barn depending on the weather. There is also general food provided in the house for days off, breakfast etc, or if you want sometime on your own. We eat most vegetarian, but some meals may have meat or be vegan. We are quite adaptable - just ask.

We would prefer volunteers for 3-5 weeks minimum - to give us all time to get into things and would think about having people longer term. All thing are negotiable though - so just ask.

We live in a beautiful rural village and would like to be able to share it with others. Please have a look at the website, for more information. I am in the process of updating it though.

Please get in touch if you think you like to come and volunteer with us.

Elly and Dancho

Scrabble players welcome!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use