Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 26292
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 4.5
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 26292
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 22, 2014

This help project is at an off-grid, island cottage with solar power only. The cottage is about 2km by boat from a marina. The closest town is Buckhorn, Ontario about 1/2 hour drive from the marina.

On the island there are two cottages, one rental cottage for my retirement income and one for myself and guests (helpers). As I am older, I required help in opening and maintaining the cottages and for firewood. Firewood is important for the wood stove and for the sauna (the only method for bathing). I need help for the following tasks:

-window washing and house cleaning
-minor painting
-brush clearing
-cutting and chopping firewood
-minor construction projects

A maximum of four hours work per day would be required for full room and board.
Helpers have been found for Spring and Summer 2014.
Best dates for helping are September and October 2014.

This help would appeal to those who want to experience typical outdoor Canada. The island is quiet and a bit isolated although cell service and internet are available on your own devices, but occasionally it can be intermittent. There is also hiking, canoeing, swimming, fishing, on and around the lake which is adjacent to Kawartha Highlands Provincial Park.

Sleeping for helpers is in a private cabin/boathouse which is unheated but has lots of blankets, etc.

I can pick helpers up in Ottawa or Peterborough and I suggest a minimum of 10 days to two weeks per stay.

I speak fluent English and French (Canadian) and very limited Spanish.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use