help exchange   Host 26310
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Torderes
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 3, + for fixed proj.
Category: Other
Host ID: 26310
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 1, 2019

I'm a 41 year old guy from Germany living in France for the past 10 Years. With the urge to leave a good footprint on this planet and make the world a bit nicer within my possibilities. I am still working on the creation of paradise, and I do accept with a smile that this is going to take all the years to come. And that it is going a lot of work.

And after all the years and some quite hard times I got a lot from it: I never felt younger at heart and in mind, I met amazing people. And the most important I had to learn, is that there is a lot in this world going wrong that I can't change. But there is a lot I am able to change. And this made me a luckier person!

There are 4 old stone houses that I rent out for holidays, and there is some land to be taken care of. So there is always something to do, depending on the time of the year and the skills you can offer! I'm always happy to have some nice people around, like the exchange and a good atmosphere, a dinner with a good conversation and a glas of red vine, bien sr!

I can show and teach you a good amount of technical and semi-pro DIY stuff, if you are interested. The best way of learning is by doing ;-). And I love to learn from others, so if you have something to share....

The land is a 3000m terrain which is in the state of a "wild paradise oasis" with some gardening areas, which I am going to transform little by little towards an even nicer paradise, mainly by rainwater-collection and storage to fight against the climate-changes which led to a serious water-problem in my area. I'm getting deeper and deeper in the understanding of permacultural ideas, for now I have a rather "technical approach", concerning the water situation. I would love the exchange with people having experience in this field, especially concerning plant-combinations and general permaculture-design, since my knowlege in this field is still rather limited (but growing).


After some experience with HelpX and other sites I'd like you to consider your expectations and your desire to invest yourself into my project before writing a message to me: I will always do my very best on the accomodation and food part-of-the deal, I'll fullfill special dietary needs (within my budget) and give you a nice home in one of my holiday houses. In return I expect these houses to be respected and kept clean and tidy. If there is more than one I like to have a nice athmosphere, where everyone takes equal part in these chores, including organising the kitchen and cooking. And even I'll not live in the same house, this is going to be the place for having breakfast, lunch and dinner. I'll take my part in the team for cooking etc., but I will not always do the cooking. If you do not like to cook, this is completely fine if there are some others that like doing it (including me :-)).

For the work-side-of-things I always loved teamwork and a getting-things-done mentality, I always try to make it a good mix of interesting stuff where you can learn something or be creative... and the things that just need to get done. There is always going to be the time for a chat or a tea/coffee break. On the other hand I do get upset if there is suddenly more breaktime than everything else, since I'll feel direspected for my approach to make everything on my side as correct and nice for you as possible. Including showing you around in my area, lending you a bike and invite you for a caf on the weekly trip to a typical french markt!

...If you've been reading to this point, and consider all the points I make reasonable, and within what you consider normal for yourself: Please write!!! And see you soon over in my nice little village in between mountains and sea!

PS: Other than in rare cases I cannot accept stays of only a few days or a week, so I made the minimun 2 weeks. I do prefer longer stays of 3 weeks a least, since this a good time to know each other better, find a nice workflow and for You to get something out of the time in the area for yourself. but two weeks are also fine if you can't stay longer!

*** from mid june to mid september I can't accomodate helpers. So if this is your traveling time, you don't need to write. For me it is sad to get mails from nice people and I have to refuse for that reason! ***

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use