Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 26353
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


York
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 26353
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 1, 2018

We live on the outskirts of York, near the racecourse. We have a garden and grow fruit and vegetables on our allotment. We`re a family of musicians so if you come then you`re likely to hear us, (and to join in if you like!).

We try to cultivate using the `no-dig` method and to re-use and recycle wherever possible.
Our house has solar panels on the roof for water and electricity as we are keen to reduce our impact on the environment.

We enjoy meeting people from all over the world and have made some wonderful friends in the process.

The work includes turning and spreading compost, weeding, seed sowing, planting out, grass cutting and fence painting. We`ll also be tackling a neglected allotment, reorganising the layout and making new beds.

From early summer fruit and vegetables are ready to be harvested and prepared for freezing and conserving.
If the weather is bad then there are usually jobs to get on with in the house, garage and greenhouse.

We can offer all meals, laundry and accommodation, (in a double bed/own bathroom) in return for a helping hand, usually around 4 hours a day, 5 days a week, or equivalent, although we`re very flexible when it comes to fitting in trips and visits.

Non smokers only.

We usually only have people for short stays, between 1-2 weeks.

We are situated 2km from the centre of the historic city of York.
Easy links for bus and rail connections to London (2 hours), Yorkshire coast, Dales and North York Moors.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use