Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 26530
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 26530
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 14, 2015

A small organic family fruit farm in a beautful secluded valley overlooking the Rio Grande valley and a 'biosphere area' Natural Park, the Sierra de las Nieves. There is wonderful walking and cycling to be had in the area. We are near two traditional 'white villages', and an easy bus drive from Malaga and the spectacular town of Ronda. There is mobile phone coverage normally.

The house is 'organic' too, very open and sunny, with solar-heated water and wood-stove. Accommodation for helpers is a very good mobile home with water and electricity. I need help in the house and kitchen especially, and at times with our lively children (Julian and Maya, 9, and 5) and of course there is always scope for help in the outdoors. Wwoof volunteers may also be
helping us at the same time. We have a group of very good friends and neighbours in the area, who receive volunteers too, so it is quite a social place at times, and we are working with them too to improve the use of the abundant fruits and vegetables we all have, and we are helping to start up a cooperative of producers and consumers in the region.
I Roger, am English, Spanish-speaking, 70, very fit and active: Ania (whom I met as a volunteer in the valley in 2004) is Polish.
She lives separately in the nearby town of Coin, where she teaches and the children go to school. The children usually come to the farm one or two afternoons and alternate weekends. What I am especially looking for is a mature or experienced person (or possibly a couple) who likes the countryside, to help short, medium or long term as 'alma de casa' (soul of the house!), to help keep the place running smoothly and especially to provide a good ambience and balance for the children. Julian and Maya are great fun and really responsive to sympathetic helpers!

Looking very much to hearing from you!

Saludos, cheers! Roger

Photos show:
1 Our house-group (the larger one is ecological neighbours) and Sierra de las Nieves National Park beyond
3 Roger with neighbours and giant pumpkin! - and daughter Maya
4 Julian in our olive trees
5 Wwoofer helpers by our pool March 2014

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use