help exchange   Host 26693
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .10
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 26693
Region: Northland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 7, 2016

Hi there,

Really need some help with building a fence to stop dogs killing my chickens please!

I had some great helpx people last year and am looking forward to meeting more. Please feel free to contact me with any questions.
My house and property back onto native bush with a waterfall 2 minutes walk away. I have fruit trees and garden beds and free range chickens. My latest addition is a small group of Indian runner ducks,
I am 5 minutes from the city centre by car and 40 minutes if walking. I do have 2 bicycles and helmuts available.
I am an artist and musician studying all things Maori.
There is have a local farmer's market in town every Saturday morning that I usually visit.
In 2012 I fell out of a pohutukawa tree at the beach and broke my foot so have not been able to keep up with all the outside work.
You will have your own space (except if I get a booking) in one of my Airbnb rooms for your privacy. I have hosted many couchsurfers and now do Airbnb which means if you are in an Airbnb room and there is a booking you would need to move onto the couch in the living room or perhaps a tent outside.
I have wifi so you will have access to the internet.
Helping with food preparation and dishes is expected.
I recycle, compost and have a worm farm.
The garden requires constant attention and I'm putting in some new fencing and finishing off a drain.
Work is mostly outside in the garden with some housework and handyman tasks around the house and is no more than 4 hours per day.
I usually go for a walk around in the morning and note down the tasks for that day. I find this helps with any language and understanding issues and also planning, timing and to check all the materials and tools required are available.
Since this is a small property I am able to host you for up to 7 days and will do my best to help you find another place.
I am happy to drive you around in my car if you're happy to pay for the petrol.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use