Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 26874
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Adelaide Hills
All Year: All Year
Area (ha): 2
Persons: Max 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 26874
Region: South Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 14, 2018

Thank you for your interest in volunteering.

We appreciate help, enjoy young people and having an excuse to visit the beautiful and interesting places Adelaide, the hills and the Fleurieu Peninsula in South Australia have to offer with them.

Please note: We got informed by the authorities that the Department of Immigration and Border Protection regards volunteering as work and only people with valid working /work and travel visa are allowed to do so. Volunteering with a tourist visa makes you in breach of the law and you can get deported and the host fined.
We are booked out for 2018 and have single bookings until April 2019 but we have some places available for most of 2019.

Please read through all the text below and only apply if you think this is for you. Ask us early as we have many requests and are not always but often booked quite a bit in advance.

We live on a 2 hectare property with the young Angas River running through. We have organic gardens with fruit trees, all sorts of berries, vegetable gardens with free roaming bantams, big layer hens, a Muscovy duck, flower beds, lawns as well as two beautiful donkeys and two goats on paddocks.

Only 1 of our 4 kids( Katharina 22) is still partly living with us. Bernward runs a sustainable architecture and building consultancy business from offices attached to the home. Barbara works at the local hospital.

If you want a break from travelling in a family environment and you are open and self-motivated, this is the place for you.

There is always help needed in garden and paddock: pampering the donkeys, looking after animals, weed control, planting, picking vegetables, berries, plums, apples and more in season,lawn mowing, making firewood, compost, clean up sheds and help in and around the house.

4-5 hours easy work a day plus help in the kitchen is expected. More hours add up to free days. Paid work for helping longer hours is sometimes available as well as is the use of a car for the right persons.

We live 45 min by car from Adelaide in the Adelaide Hills, 45 min from safe swimming beaches and 45 minutes from the surf beach . We think that is pretty central. We do regular trips to the surrounding beaches and national parks with our helpers. Adelaide is easily accessible via bus.

We offer 2 bed accommodation in a separate 1 room stone cottage, 2 beds in a room in our house and a room in an outbuilding if available. We all share kitchen, lounge room & the home cooked evening meal. (Mixed diet, vegetarians/vegans can be catered for). For breakfast, lunch and cravings in-between you have anytime access to our fridges and pantries and special wishes (unless outrageous:-) can be usually accommodated during the next shopping trip.

No smokers & no highly perfumed body products please. Reasonable English or German speaking / understanding is expected to enable meaningful conversations.

Please provide a photo (if not provided in your blog already) with your first contact.

We prefer longer stays (3 weeks min or more) after an initial "get to know" of a few days. Many helpers stay longer than planned and come back as they like the chance to relax and join a supporting family. Try to ask us early as we are often booked out for weeks or even month as it develops lately.

Enjoy your adventure and many great hosts on the way!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use