help exchange   Host 26993
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Huntingdon
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 30
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 26993
Region: Mid Atlantic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 4, 2014

We are a tribe of 5 living as gently and sustainably as we can. We have a small organic farm, recently partnered with a friend's 30-year-old organic farm; so during the growing season we spend time at both locations. We also offer a traditional Hatha yoga class with live Indian Classical music.

Asha is a health coach, yoga instructor, artist, and alchemist. She is also an artistic manipulator of textiles, clay, and cuisine.

Nick is a professional musician, high school soccer coach, homebrewer, and substitute teacher. He offers musical instruction and is experienced with natural building and permaculture principles.

Both are world travelers, helpxers, farmers, potters, and offer instruction in all of their fields.

The kids (ages 4, 6, and 11) are also multitalented, as they are involved in the arts, gymnastics, exploring, gardening, and natural building. They are homeschooled and are involved with all of the projects that go on at the farm.

Our tribe also consists of two magical kitties (Cleo and Xena) and a few silkie chickens that teach us every day how hilarious life can be. When it gets warm out we will be looking for more chickens, geese, and ducks; and we will likely have a dog soon...

A few things about us:

1) We are mostly vegan but do eat eggs that our chickens produce. We advocate a plant-based diet, and eat as much raw produce as possible. We do love cooking, though, as it grounds us--especially in the winter. We are extremely open-minded, easygoing people, but we are strict about one thing, and that is: we don't eat meat and won't allow the cooking of flesh in our house.

2) We are homeschoolers and homesteaders, so the first priority is the kids. They are a joy to be around, and we learn so much from them every day!


What we offer:

1) A place to stay and play in exchange for various work which may include gardening, building, harvesting wood, working with wood, playing with the kids (none of these things are really work if this sounds good to you...), helping at the farmers market, and general maintenance of the property.

2) Accomodation in a loft, room, or campsite in the woods.

3) Free yoga instruction for volunteers

4) A small pottery studio and space to create things.

5) A 72-acre forest to play in.

6) An outdoor wood stove for brewing beer, etc.

7) Garden space for long-term volunteers.

8) Freedom to come up with your own projects and implement them.

9) Experienced instruction, but we are always learning and trying new things!

We try not to expect anything of others, but if you would like to volunteer here we are only accepting passionate learners and workers.

Projects we will be getting on with this year:

1) Building a sauna

2) Building a cob wood-fired hot tub

3) Building a composting toilet

4) Building cob/wood huts in the forest

5) Expanding the terraced gardens

6) Building a cob beer stove

7) Expanding the bird accomodations

8) Making an aviary for rescued birds

9) Building a yoga studio

10) Building a barn so we can have goats!

We welcome families with kids, individuals, couples--really anyone who wants to live and learn how to maintain a happy, self-sufficient lifestyle in this increasingly fast-paced and technological world we live in.

Drop us a line if you are interested via email, or give us a shout using the number listed. Namaste!


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use