Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 27378
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: no
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 27378
Region: Christchurch

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 4, 2018

PLEASE NOTE: WE are currently not available to take more helpers until October 2017.

Thank you for taking a look at our profile we would love to hear from you.
We are a family of 5, two girls aged 10 and 7 and a little boy aged 5. Vera is Italian and the children are totally bilingual. Italian is often spoken at home, including at the table during lunch and dinner. We love entertaining people and have friends over, travelling and good food.
Both Ian and Vera are engineers, Ian is a mechanical eng and works for a consultancy company in town and Vera is an environmental eng and teaches at high school and at the university.
We love the outdoor and we try to spend as much time as possible walking or outside in the garden.

We are looking for one person (or 2 people) who loves children and is reliable and honest to be with them while we are at work or we are busy with other house work (ie. cooking). Hours are flexible but need to fit around the children's timetable. We are happy to combine the hours so that you can get a free day when possible, but we do expect work to be done. Laziness is not welcome, nor are people who try to take advantage, and get free meal and accommodation. Unfortunately we had few people who came as helpers, but they actually did not help at all, worse we had to clean up after their mess too, and it turned into a terrible frustration. If it happens again, this type of people are going to be ask to leave.
There are plenty of other jobs around the house and garden and we do expect them to be done in 4 hours of work a day you can achieve a lot.
Vera loves cooking but you are most welcome to help or cook some meals:)
We would prefer somebody with a driving licence to take the the children to their various activities and who could pick them up from school, but we can work around that :)

We are very happy with a lot of different nationalities and cultures, we love to listen to your stories and share time together. We can offer a double room and a shared bathroom and we expect that you look after your room, make you bed, keep clean your washing basin and clean after yourself.
We are happy to host also a couple of 2 friends as long as they are prepared to share the same queen bed :)
We prefer to host people that take initiative and enjoy contributing. i.e. vacuum the floor, set the table or any other little job that is pretty obvious it needs to be done... We value good upfront communication.
Our neighborhood is quiet, but close to buses, a walking distance from a big mall, shopping center and cinema.
We have wi-fi internet available if you have your own laptop/smartphone...
Please note we are a smoke free house and we would NOT take smoking people or do drugs.
Please let us know in advance if you have any particular food requirement (allergies, intolerance..) so we can arrange for it.
We hope to get to meet you soon.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use