Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 27463
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 27463
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 10, 2017

*Available to host for around 2 weeks anytime between 17th Nov and 15th Dec* Chance to help out with a local festival, decorating the hall and working with the public in late November too!

We are a friendly family of 5, mum (Amanda), dad (Greg) and three children aged 9, 6 and 5 who live 35 mins north of Launceston on the Tamar river near Exeter.
We moved to Tasmania from mainland Australia in 2013 and have very recently completed building our own house and shed on 10 acres. We built it single-handedly except for the help of 20 lots of helpers who stayed with us for varying lengths of time and helped us build it all!
Greg now works full time and Amanda part-time, but we still have many projects we want to work on and want to continue hosting as we love meeting people on their travels and sharing our family life with them for a moment in time! We have made some life long friends along the way and couldn't have completed our huge 4 year house build without the generous assistance of all our helpers.
We have both travelled a lot in lbk (life before kids!!). In fact we met while Amanda (English) was backpacking through Asia and Greg (Australian) was working there. This is our way of bringing the world to us as we can't get away with the kids so often now!

We are now looking for people to stay between 2 and 6 weeks at a time to spend time with our family and work on whatever project we happen to be on whilst helping around our house and land.
The first project (late 2017) will be to clean up and spruce up the house we've been living in the last 4 years. Next will be a chicken shed, veggie gardens a big tree house and the kids want a zipline!
Every day jobs may be weed spraying, house cleaning, cooking, gardening or house maintenance.

We welcome single travellers and would also welcome couples travelling together. We prefer good English language skills so us and the kids can enjoy chatting with you, but we are also happy to help you learn more too. Amanda speaks conversational French and is always keen to practice too.

Accomodation will be in our newly built house in your own room with own kitchenette and bathroom. We live on 10 acres of beautiful bushland with wallabies, rabbits, echidnas and bush turkeys and we can pretty much guarantee that you'll see many of the above over your time here!

You must enjoy being around young children as we are a busy and noisy young family :-) They are in bed by 7.30pm-8pm every night though :-)
We have excellent internet coverage and speed here. If you love playing with the kids outside, inside or video games with our son, you'll have friends forever. We enjoy BBQ's, entertaining our friends and having a beer at the weekend, we hope you'll join us!

The bus stop to Launceston and Exeter is 20 minutes walk away, but the service is limited (peak hours and weekdays only), so you need to be prepared for a reasonably rural location. A vehicle is helpful, it will give you a lot more freedom, but not essential if you're happy to make the most of the walks and serenity of the immediate area. I regularly travel to Exeter and wouldn't mind giving lifts when I do and we have a decent bike that you could borrow too. I am happy to pick up from Launceston on arrival and departure.
We eat our main meal of the day together as a family with our helpers at 5.30pm. We love having company and our kids are loving hearing about other countries and customs! We have eaten some wonderful meals that previous helpers have cooked for us from their home country recipes.

Hope to hear from you and share some of our family life and stunning area with you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use