Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 2754
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: January 2018 on
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2 female ONLY
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 2754
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 29, 2017

We are keen green recyclers living in a large edwardian house (1904) We have had wonderful helpXers since summer 07 and they have done great things in the house and garden.

We would like you to come initially for 2 weeks, to help in the house and garden and also to help with young foreign students who stay with us while they study at language school nearby. We would like you to do jobs that we don't have time to get done ourselves. You will mostly work alone or with another helper; you will eat with us and mealtimes are when you can chat and improve your English.

We ask HelpXers to work 25 hours each week. The times will vary; usually in the mornings, but sometimes afternoons/evenings. Hopefully we will have another helper so that you have someone to work with and to go exploring after work - perhaps you can come with a friend?

We like to get to know our helpers before we agree to a long stay; come for one or two weeks to see how we get along... Please do not ask us to agree to a longer stay before we have met and worked with you for a trial period, let's find out if we get along first! Also if you are travelling from overseas why not visit two or more hosts?

Hastings is a large town by the sea, a couple of hours from London by train; an hour from Ashford International rail station; direct train from London Gatwick airport 1 1/2 hours; train from Newhaven for Dieppe boat; bus from Dover - takes a long time but it's possible!

The town has lots of free music, art, exhibitions etc and there's always the beach! We will be pleased to meet you and grateful for your help but we will expect you to entertain yourselves after work - there's lots to see, much of it free, so come and enjoy Hastings and East Sussex.


We have been helpers ourselves in France and Spain so hopefully that experience makes us better hosts! We are vegetarian. You MUST be non-smoking. We have a small terrier dog who is very friendly with humans but will eat your socks!

We look forward to hearing from female helpers, sorry we can't take male helpers.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use