Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 27601
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Waihi
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.25
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 27601
Region: Waikato

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 2, 2018

Kia ora
I'm a woman (late 40's) living in Waikino- a rural village just off SH2 in the Karangahake Gorge, between Waihi and Paeroa. I share a 3bdrm house with 2 flatmates who are busy and not home alot.

I have a small section 1000sqm and I grow fruit, veges, herbs, 3 chooks, and a beehive which is tended by a local beekeeper. I would love for you to come and experience a little of kiwi life..

I'm keen to meet people from different countries and cultures...it keeps life interesting and I would love to learn to speak French or Spanish but any nationalities welcome. I love music and want to hear your music and stories. I offer healthy homecooked food and welcome both meat eaters, and vegetarians.

I have 99 % finished building a bamboo / cob studio which you will sleep in. It is warm and dry and seperate from the main house so you have some privacy. However you will need to share the Bathroom which is also in the main house.

There is much work to be done and I like to match your skills and interests with jobs. Some of the jobs I'm needing help with are:
Finishing touches around the outside of the studio - laying some paving stones around the exterior, sanding and oiling the window, property maintenance on the main house, weeding, mowing, mulching, and if weather is bad the shed needs organising and tidying. Also needing a new chimney made for the outdoor fireplace, a wire netting fence to put up - There's always something to do, just depends on how well we 'fit' and how long you have to stay.

Due to a recent injury the property has become a little overgrown so I ask that 1 hour per day weeding is done. I will work alongside with you. Then the rest of the day can be spent on the interesting jobs.

My place would suit people who can arrive Friday evening then work 8 hours on a Sat, Sun, Mon so we can work together on projects. Then you have 3 whole days free to relax or explore the area as I have to go to work off site. In exchange I offer the accommodation and food. I am happy to negotiate hours and days. Can't be all work and no play !

You must be honest, hardworking and able to work independently at times. A sense of humour and interest in earth building would be helpful.

I Would prefer people to stay at least 1 week.

I follow permaculture and organic gardening practices but am not organic certified.

There's lots to do around here - Hauraki rail trail if you are into cycling , Karangahake Gorge for mountain walks for hiking, rivers, pub and café 10 mins walk away, beach and hot pools 20 mins drive away.

Hamilton, Tauranga and South Auckland approx 60 - 90 mins drive away.
You will preferably have your own car, however I could pick you up from the bus in Waihi or Paeroa if needed.

Hope to See you soon
Alli


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use