help exchange   Host 2761
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

near Rangiora
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10
Persons: 1 or 1 couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 2761
Region: North Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 15, 2017

No experience necessary, just a can do attitude and willingness try new things and help out where you can.

Hi there. I have 25 acres in North Canterbury, in a SPECTACULAR setting with NW views of the alps, South East - across Christchurch to Banks Peninsular, south are the Canterbury plains and east is the Ashley forest. I have some Belted Galloway cows, sheep, lambs, & 2 cats. There's always things needing doing. No experience with animals or small farming is necessary, just a willingness to work and to experience new things and hopefully learn a few new things, and be prepared to muck in with what needs doing. Jobs are mainly outside weather permitting, and you should be prepared to get your hands dirty (eg planting trees ,weeding etc).Outside jobs include clearing gorse and weedwacking fence lines, gardening, Stacking fire wood, I need to hire a log splitter as I have wood to split too. Weather not permitting outside stuff there would be general housework,cleaning, etc.
Located about 1.5 hours from the local ski fields and Hanmer Springs. My house is made from Earth/cement blocks and built on solar principles, and is still a work in progress.I would appreciate any help at all in finishing and maintaining the house and developing the property and looking after the animals. Accommodation is with me in the house, double room and your own bathroom. Free wireless access evenings. It is quiet here with spectacular views and Rangiora is 12 minutes drive, about 40 easy minutes by bike. Helpers are sometimes working unsupervised while I am at work. Self starters and honesty is therefore appreciated and a bit of ingenuity comes in handy too!. English must be first language or very good . I have bikes and good biking from home. The Ashley Forest is just round the corner and has some really good trails. Also I am in the foothills of the southern Alps so there is good tramping around here for all sorts of levels of experience.Otherwise it is a nice spot to just chill out. If you would care to join me, please get in touch, that would be great. It's better for me if helpers needing transport arrive and depart weekdays rather than weekends.I look forward to hearing from you!
I haven't had any helpers for a few years but looking forward to meeting new people again Thanks.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use