Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 27644
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 15
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 27644
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 11, 2014

I have recently taken over the family farm which has been left idle for the past number of years. My aim is to restore the farm back to its former glory so there is a lot to do in getting it there. Help in doing this would be hugely appreciated. Things I need to do this year would include replacing fencing, clearing the land, planting trees/hedging, re-establishing the vegetable garden, fruit bushes and flower beds, bringing in the turf from the bog, filling the woodshed, getting in hay for the horses, ponies and donkeys, looking after the animals, filling the freezer and cupboards for the winter months along with general household chores like cooking and cleaning. As Irish weather is so unpredictable and because I live in a midge metropolis what we get done on a day to day basis varies considerably. My ethos here is self sufficiency, sustainability and being eco friendly. As I also have a full time job (but work from home quite a bit) it is important that my helpers are self motivated, independent and are able to use their own initiative when needed. I try to have 2-3 helpers at a time so that we are a good team together.
Midges are like mini mosquitos, their bite is not as bad but there are a lot of them during the summer. Free wifi. Mobile coverage poor. Please have own insurance. Stays longer than 3 weeks preferred. There is no public transport but I can bring you to and from the bus at the weekend. There is a lake nearby and there are lots of forests and mountains to explore. I have camping equipment and bicycles. The accommodation is a cosy self catering (food provided) appartment adjacent to the house.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use